Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,037,816
Posts13,935,011
Members144,150
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Noob at rod building, looking for advice from the TFF gurus. #11293614 12/20/15 06:43 PM
P
psycho0819 Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
P
So I'm extremely new at building rods, on my third one now. The first two yielded expected results, learned a few things while building each one, and the third is better but I have one recurring issue.

The finish coat (Pro Kote medium build) keeps "bulbing" (lack of a better term) on the smaller guides. It seems the finish all wants to run to the middle of the wrap and settle there. This results in a bulb of finish as opposed to an even coat along the length of the wrap. As I said, it seems worse on the smaller guides, but I'm having the issue on all wraps to some degree. I've tried several thin coats, and tried applying what I discovered was way too much at once. I haven't seen any particular way that's better than another at eliminating this problem.

I was thinking I might need to get some high build and try that. But wanted to ask first because I suspect it might be more of a technique issue than a component issue. Any thoughts/advice are appreciated.

And to the Mods; Why no rod building sub-section on the TFF? I'd bet there are enough people here building rods to justify such a section?

If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space!
Re: Noob at rod building, looking for advice from the TFF gurus. [Re: psycho0819] #11293714 12/20/15 07:58 PM
P
Po Boy Offline
Pro Angler
Pro Angler
P