Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RushtonGregory, Bulletman77, thereason11, Lady808, PReaux
102720 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82876
hopalong 74394
Pilothawk 73433
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59892
Tritonman 56827
Derek 56416
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52224
facebook
Forum Stats
102720 Members
61 Forums
859086 Topics
11270066 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11277961 - 12/12/15 11:39 AM Lowrance lss-1 help
ranger_ryan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/29/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Bryan, TX
I recently bought a Lowrance gen 2 head unit and already have the lss-1 sructure scan box and transducer installed. I can use side imaging but sonar does not work. Is there something I need to change in settings?

Top
#11277981 - 12/12/15 11:56 AM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
jfdawson Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 848
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Assume you also have the traditional 2d transducer installed as well ? You need 2 tnasducers; one for 2d sonar and the other one for stucturescan.
_________________________

Top
#11278000 - 12/12/15 12:10 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
ranger_ryan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/29/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Bryan, TX
No, I don't have 2 installed. I used the the transducer that came with gen 2 on trolling motor. I can move it to back of boat or buy another. Does anyone recommend particular transducer? There is only one port on structure scan box, is there an adapter to connect two?

Top
#11278075 - 12/12/15 01:09 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
ProCull Fishing Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 737
Loc: Rowlett
I would add another 2d transducer to the back of the boat. The lss box will allow you to share the 2d transducer with both graphs if you chose to move it to the back, but you won't be able to see what's directly under the trolling motor just running 1 from the back.. If you did that you'd be seeing what's under the back of the boat on your front graph.
_________________________

Top
#11278083 - 12/12/15 01:14 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
SRitchey Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/31/13
Posts: 716
Loc: McKinney, TX
Is this a non-touch unit?
_________________________
Steve


Top
#11278186 - 12/12/15 02:40 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
I'm confused. Redo this so someone can figure out what you have.


Do you have 1 or 2 graphs?

Where is the head unit? Console or trolling motor area.

You put the LSS ducer where? Trolling motor or transom.

You do or don't have a 2d sonar transducer? If you do, where is it mounted.


What are you trying to accomplish?

Top
#11278232 - 12/12/15 03:18 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
ranger_ryan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/29/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Bryan, TX
I have two graphs. Non touch units. One on the front with transducer on trolling motor, which is working. The other unit is at the bow, structural scan transducer is on the bottom of hull. I used the new 2-D sonar transducer that came with gen 2 unit for trolling motor. I did not know that structure scan transducer was not capable of sonar. Now I am confused on how to connect two transducers to the unit at bow. Currently I don't have sonar for unit at bow.

Top
#11278236 - 12/12/15 03:22 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
It sounds like he re-purposed the required 2D transducer to another unit? ...and he may not understand that the 2D transducer (that is missing in his setup) should connect to the HDS head unit, not the LSS-1 box.

All generations/models of HDS units with sonar have a 2D connector on the back. You need one of these connected to get traditional sonar display data, regardless of what model is used.

All Touch models have a 2D connector AND a Stucture-Scan 3D transducer connector. Again, a 2D transducer is required to get traditional sonar display data.

My hunch is that he now has two non-Touch units, one LSS box, one 3D transducer, but only one 2D transducer.

The 3D transducer stays connected to the LSS box.
Each HDS head requires an Ethernet cable to the LSS box.
Each HDS head requires a dedicated 2D transducer connected directly to it. [Edit: Well, almost. I've assumed you want a "local view" relative to each display, so the bow needs a 2D transducer and the console unit needs a 2D transducer. It is possible to use one, but then you only get to look down at one spot.]

He has probably failed to complete the 3rd requirement for each HDS head.


Edited by Flippin-Out (12/13/15 07:16 AM)
Edit Reason: Better accuracy

Top
#11278264 - 12/12/15 03:41 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5415
Loc: Boerne, Texas
What kind of boat?

Ok, 3 options.

1. Move the 2d to the transom or make it shoot through the hull (if it's a fiberglass hull).

2. Buy another ducer, either the skimmer style or the puck style. Skimmer works best on the transom, puck works best as a "shoot through hull".

3. Lowrance is coming out with a LSS ducer that includes built in sonar. I don't know much about it but there is a post on BBC about it.


You can make the sonars share the 2d info from a single ducer. I don't have time to explain it right now.


Edited by grout-scout (12/12/15 03:45 PM)

Top
#11278304 - 12/12/15 04:09 PM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
ProCull Fishing Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 737
Loc: Rowlett
The easy answer is yes, you can get by with 1 2d and 1 ss transducer as long as you move the 2d to the transom and share it with the front graph. The best setup would be 2 2d transducers (one at the transom and one on the trolling motor) and 1 ss transducer at the transom.
_________________________

Top
#11279047 - 12/13/15 07:19 AM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Exactly, Procull. I updated my post to include the fact that the 2D transducer can be shared if the user is willing to give up one "local straight down view" (such as the bow with no TM transducer).

Top
#11279052 - 12/13/15 07:32 AM Re: Lowrance lss-1 help [Re: ranger_ryan]
ranger_ryan Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/29/09
Posts: 57
Loc: Bryan, TX
Thanks for the help, now I know what I need to do. I already ordered another 2-d transducer from eBay.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide