Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82883
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73443
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59904
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56432
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859247 Topics
11272431 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11207341 - 11/05/15 11:51 AM SI Transducer Placement
obsessive Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 420
Loc: Irving, Tx
My boat came with the transducer already installed but I get really crappy images from the left side of the boat do to the motor shaft and prop wash. I would like to move the transducer but I can't figure out what would be the best location. Here are some images of my transom. I was thinking of moving it to the first step down in the middle of my transom. I know this will screw up my on plane readings but I don't think I care.




_________________________
Flipside Outdoors - High quality, affordable tungsten weights

Top
#11207391 - 11/05/15 12:19 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Waco28 Crappie Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/06/13
Posts: 212
Loc: Waco TX
Have you tried slightly trimming your motor up when running the SI? I have the same problem of prop wash when my motor is fully down, I tilt it up just a few clicks and it clears the image. What speed are you running when you are using the SI?
_________________________

Top
#11207427 - 11/05/15 12:35 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
obsessive Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 420
Loc: Irving, Tx
I have to trim it WAY up to get rid of the interference, to the point where steering becomes difficult.
_________________________
Flipside Outdoors - High quality, affordable tungsten weights

Top
#11207469 - 11/05/15 12:50 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Tmckn Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/30/12
Posts: 1874
Loc: Paradise Tx
Off topic but the first step that you suggested mounted to left or right side of the two drains is a better option. Not prefect but will work better than what you have now. One side will still catch disturbed water off the leading edge of the very bottom step. You'll also hold bottom better at speed.
_________________________

Top
#11207484 - 11/05/15 12:54 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Ken Gaby Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/08/07
Posts: 2300
Loc: Belton, TX
On the step above the drain plug hole will eliminate interference from the motor shaft. SI won't work well above 5 mph in my experience. I never worry about getting readings while on plane. By the time you see the reading on the screen, you're well past that point anyway.
_________________________
A life without God is like an unsharpened pencil, it has no point. Billy Graham
http://www.proanglertackle.com Best crappie and catfish rods/reels
http://www.crazyanglertackle.com Premium crappie baits and jig tying accessories
www.thermoclinelures.com / "Helping YOU catch MORE & LARGER fish!"
http://www.beereadys.com World's Best Rod Holders

Top
#11207491 - 11/05/15 12:56 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
machinist Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/22/06
Posts: 1651
Loc: Lake Graham, Lot 30
Are you trying to read at speeds above 5mph? If I remember right SI is not for high speed or
even on plane speeds.

Johnny
_________________________
I fish on the edge and stay out of the middle

99 BassCat Jag w/225 Merc Optimax

Top
#11207522 - 11/05/15 01:13 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
obsessive Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 420
Loc: Irving, Tx
It would be cool to know how deep I'm at but I don't care about the graph on plane. I just want to be able to idle and actually use my whole graph instead of only seeing the right image.
_________________________
Flipside Outdoors - High quality, affordable tungsten weights

Top
#11207640 - 11/05/15 02:21 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
BlueNitro Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/08/10
Posts: 4136
Loc: Lewisville
I found your problem, you are running a Hummingbird. (Sorry David) peep

I wouldn't move it if you can just raise your motor while side scanning. Just read were you have tried that already so you may have to move it.

BTW - I have my LSS-2 mounted on one of the set back thing-a-ma-jigs and it works fine for me.


Edited by BlueNitro (11/05/15 02:24 PM)
_________________________
LiftSaver Trolling Motor Mounting Bracket - Patent Pending
www.liftsavertmmount.com
http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbt...nt#Post11940135
http://www.shut-up-and-fish.com/

Top
#11207718 - 11/05/15 02:59 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: Ken Gaby]
Bobcat1 Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 01/15/07
Posts: 17800
Loc: Sanger,Texas
Originally Posted By: Ken Gaby
On the step above the drain plug hole will eliminate interference from the motor shaft. SI won't work well above 5 mph in my experience. I never worry about getting readings while on plane. By the time you see the reading on the screen, you're well past that point anyway.
What Ken said.
_________________________
LiftSaver Trolling Motor Mounting Bracket - Patent Pending
www.liftsavertmmount.com



Top
#11207751 - 11/05/15 03:13 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
shut-up-and-fish Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/08/10
Posts: 9103
Loc: Coppell Tx.

Funny how the lowrance guys always have to chime in on a Humminbird issue but you never see a Humminbird guy stepping in on a Lowrance issue.
I guess they have to do it to make them feel better on there choice. (Sorry Ron...) bolt

Every boat has a sweat spot. I have installed many a transducers and were able to achieve depth while on plane. The Onix units I installed on Guy' boat can achieve this up to 35+mph.

It is hard to tell but you may have installed the transducer right at a strake causing the readings to be in dirty water. I would recommend moving it to the left just a bit where it looks like a transducer once was mounted. Plus I would raise the other transducer up just a tad. Yes you will need to trim the motor up a bit to clear the left side reading but you should still be able to steer the vesel as you do not need to trim up but only 2-3 inches.





_________________________


It's all coming together and we have you covered @ Shut-Up-And-Fish LLC
for all your Humminbird, Minn Kota & Motorguide needs.
We install & educate as well!!! 972 737 8161


Top
#11207824 - 11/05/15 03:53 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3443
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
Put it here IF you don't fish in timber.
Black square is the mount. Yellow oval is the transducer.

_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, 360, RC-1

Top
#11208082 - 11/05/15 06:26 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Tmckn Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/30/12
Posts: 1874
Loc: Paradise Tx
Put some air in those tires too, at least 50lbs.
_________________________

Top
#11208439 - 11/05/15 08:49 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
obsessive Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 420
Loc: Irving, Tx
I think I'm gonna try that out Wayne. I just don't like trimming my motor up so much to scan David, I think it sure would be nice to just be able to scan as soon as I slowed down towards a spot without messing with the trim. I actually was thinking about buying a jackplate just to get the motor out of the way more... then I came back down to earth and decided to move the transducer lol.
_________________________
Flipside Outdoors - High quality, affordable tungsten weights

Top
#11208455 - 11/05/15 08:51 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
obsessive Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 420
Loc: Irving, Tx
Also I was watching videos on youtube and serveral people suggested installing the transducer on the strake. I agree with you David that its probably getting some dirty water already because its installed right behind a strake.


Edited by obsessive (11/05/15 08:51 PM)
_________________________
Flipside Outdoors - High quality, affordable tungsten weights

Top
#11210040 - 11/06/15 07:39 PM Re: SI Transducer Placement [Re: obsessive]
Knot Normal Offline
Angler

Registered: 08/27/14
Posts: 374
Loc: Southeast Texas
I was having that problem with side imaging but I put a transducer on the bow on its own leg(removable) and it works great. I only use side imaging at slow speeds so it isn't a problem, and I have a pontoon so there is plenty of room. I also have a transducer on the port log at the stern but its use is depth and down imaging.
_________________________
Randy

I'm in good shape for the shape I'm in!



Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide