Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Lilleyj7, D.RODGERS, mikyfran, SaltwaterGospel, Nicholas Moudy
102741 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82901
hopalong 74412
Pilothawk 73459
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59946
Tritonman 56844
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52467
LoneStarSon® 52229
facebook
Forum Stats
102741 Members
61 Forums
859443 Topics
11275355 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11202632 - 11/02/15 09:52 PM lowrance graph service
backatit Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 640
Is there a local (DFW) person that can service my HDS unit or do I need to send it off? The "Trail" function has erased and quit working.

Top
#11202643 - 11/02/15 09:58 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
Moved to Sandlin Offline
Angler

Registered: 11/28/13
Posts: 399
Loc: Dallas
Did you try to turn it back on ?
_________________________

Top
#11202648 - 11/02/15 10:06 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
backatit Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 640
NOOOO! NEVER THOUGHT TO DO THAT!!!............. LOL YES

Top
#11202673 - 11/02/15 10:31 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
skeeter james Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 05/16/14
Posts: 503
Loc: Corinth,tx
Mine quit leaving a trail line 1 time and I thought it was broken too.
I must have hit some button or something. I was going across the lake 1 day and pressed the exit button a few times and it started working again...may have been a fluke.

Try leaving the unit on and unplug the power wire on the back and let it sit a few minutes. Then plug it back in and turn it back on.

That's all I know to try...
_________________________
Formerly known as progator james
2013 Skeeter FX21 with a 250 SHO... Love this boat...

North Texas Bass Tournaments
NTBT
James Moore
CEO and president of NTBT
214-458-8024

Feel free to pm me here or call or text me with any questions, ideas or suggestions.

James Moore
214-458-8024

Top
#11202748 - 11/03/15 02:54 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
High-end GPS/Sonar units are complex digital devices with an operating system and software functions. They do NOT benefit from having power interrupted unexpectedly when the unit is in operating mode. Such a power-down is bad advice; it stands a chance of creating more issues than it will solve. Manufacturers will tell you to avoid this because of those risks. These devices benefit from an orderly shutdown just like a PC - memory corruption is a serious risk if you don't.

If you want to try something safe, do an orderly power-down, THEN disconnect power from the unit for a bit, reconnect power, then power-up again. I will say this is unlikely to fix an inadvertent mode change or setting change because such modes & settings are usually stored in a type of memory called EEPROM. EEPROM is non-volatile, meaning it does not "forget" when the power goes away. This is how your unit remembers your customized settings even when you take the unit off the boat and put it back again later.

The best thing to try if you have no clue what you've done to your unit is to restore factory default settings. Refer to the manual for how to do this. You should save waypoints on a removable memory card before you do it.


Edited by Flippin-Out (11/03/15 02:55 AM)

Top
#11202784 - 11/03/15 06:10 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
Moved to Sandlin Offline
Angler

Registered: 11/28/13
Posts: 399
Loc: Dallas
Backatit--Just thought I would ask, Never know. If you put it in a brown bag shake it over never mind..
_________________________

Top
#11202789 - 11/03/15 06:18 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
James Biggs Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/11/06
Posts: 2589
Loc: DFW area
Do a soft reset on your unit. You can learn how to do it on YouTube. In the past when mine have had problems this solved them.


Edited by James Biggs (11/03/15 06:18 AM)

Top
#11202884 - 11/03/15 07:37 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
jfdawson Online   happy
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/21/05
Posts: 850
Loc: Frisco, Texas
It's highly unlikely that just one feature quit working. Are you completely sure you understand how to start a new trail? Also, do know know if the units internal Hard drive is completely full?

I would start there. Under trails, you have to creat a new trail and name it something... Example: "New Trail", this is also where you choose the trail color,etc...

If the HD is full it might be causing your trail function to not record.

Hope this helps.
_________________________

Top
#11202950 - 11/03/15 08:00 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
dynatrakben194 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/04/09
Posts: 205
Loc: arlington,tx
had the same thing happen to my hds 7 gen 1.
I deleted my trails and then the curser quit showing a trail because I had not renamed .
as soon as I did that it started working with trail tracking

Top
#11203057 - 11/03/15 08:46 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
Rudy Lackey Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 03/03/02
Posts: 8106
Loc: N. Richland Hills Texas USA
Boris marine--817-624-3932
_________________________
Rudy

Top
#11203319 - 11/03/15 11:15 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
1FishinFool Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/20/08
Posts: 116
I have a Lowrance Mark 4 CHIRP on my pontoon boat. It reads fine at certain speeds but it will not read while sitting still. Do I have something not set correctly?

Top
#11203955 - 11/03/15 05:19 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
backatit Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 640
Thanks guys I will try I will check the HD and try soft reset Hope it works will let you know

Top
#11205061 - 11/04/15 09:51 AM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
propman Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/06/10
Posts: 402
Loc: Pilot Point, TX
Do what Rudy Lackey says if all else fails and go see Donnie at Boris Marine in Azle. He's worked on my stuff a couple of times.

Top
#11205419 - 11/04/15 01:02 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
ryane Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/12/12
Posts: 228
make sure it is fully updated after you try soft reset. Not a cure all but it can cause weird problems sometimes if it is not.

Top
#11206108 - 11/04/15 07:52 PM Re: lowrance graph service [Re: backatit]
Jersey Dan Offline
Guido

Registered: 01/01/07
Posts: 6393
Loc: your sisters house
It's as simple as this. Backup your data and do a soft reset. If that does not work, you are screwed unless you have a warranty. No mechanic of any sort is going to be able to perform surgery on microchips for you. Lowrance will also throw the unit out, as they do not even up them up anymore and deal with issues like that.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide