Page 1 of 2 1 2
How to prepare for a roll? #11196916 10/31/15 06:59 AM
T
TXsundance Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
I've read several places that most will eventually tip their yaks. I'm new to this and want to hear what precautions the veteran yakers take. I'm most worried about losing rods, reels, and lures in case of a roll. I know to wear a good floatation device to keep from drowning. Do you leash all the rods you carry? Use rod floats? I'm paranoid about my Calcutta, Stradic, or Abu ending up at the bottom of the lake.

I'd rather be fishing...
Re: How to prepare for a roll? [Re: TXsundance] #11196975 10/31/15 11:50 AM
C
CCTX Online Content
mapquest
Online Content
mapquest
C
Wear a PFD and practice re entry in a lake you know well on a calm day.
Know your limitations and your kayak's limitations
Stay at least 25% under the kayak's weight capacity.
Check the forecast and don't go out in high wind conditions.
If you get surprised by high winds, find a protected cove
Fish with a buddy
Stay centered on your kayak and avoid precarious positions (leaning back and to the side turning around to grab something behind you is not a good position in choppy water)
My guess is that anchoring issues and anchoring mishaps are the #1 source of tipping over inshore. Have a quick release system.

As far as leashing, etc I designed my PVC rod holders with zipties running through the middle of the pvc. These keep my rods in the holders (sometimes too well) My paddle is leashed also.

[Linked Image]
Re: How to prepare for a roll? [Re: TXsundance] #11197009 10/31/15 12:37 PM
J
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
J