Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BatsRy, Bassman1284, Bone1095, Marcus Smith, Justfishy
104004 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84241
hopalong 76001
Pilothawk 74236
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 62207
FattyMcButterpants 60649
Tritonman 57324
Derek 57190
SkeeterRonnie 52715
LoneStarSon® 52591
facebook
Forum Stats
104004 Members
61 Forums
833369 Topics
11905284 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11174625 - 10/20/15 11:01 AM E-Tec prob
Ricky Taylor Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1675
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
2008 evinrude etec 150 118hrs. Taken care of.

Before I launch I always pump the bulb till its firm regardless that it's fuel injected. Well last trip I didn't and... It ran good for a couple hours and then I pulled into a cove and raised the motor ALL the way out of the motor due to stumps. Fished the cove for about 1.5 hours, dropped the motor down and fired right up and jumped on plans like normal. Well when it leveled out on plane I was at 3500-3650 RPMS when I went to give it some more throttle the rpms slowly dropped and I panicked and came to a quick stop and shut her down. Tried to re start, wasn't happening. Checked battery connection and checked bulb, bulb was completely empty, squeezed it and then it got firm. Took a couple cranks but motor started up and ran great again all day. What could have caused this?

Top
#11174634 - 10/20/15 11:05 AM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
buton Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/28/10
Posts: 1385
Loc: Cypress,Tx
bad gas?
_________________________

Top
#11174658 - 10/20/15 11:14 AM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Ricky Taylor Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1675
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
No sir, I filled it up right before that trip that day.

Top
#11174863 - 10/20/15 12:29 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/26/12
Posts: 806
Loc: Waxahachie, Texas
Ricky, that doesn't always mean you got good gas. All underground gas tanks have condensation in them. They say your never supposed to get gas right after the station gets a load because all the sediment is stirred up. But I had the same problem on my motor. Turned out to be a bad bulb on mine. It would do the exact same thing. Die, pump the bulb and it would run good again. I put a new bulb on it and haven't had the problem since. Don't buy a cheap bulb at Walmart though, get a good Mercury one from a dealer.

Top
#11174965 - 10/20/15 01:09 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Ricky Taylor Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1675
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
Jimmy, I never thought about that. Thank you. I will run it again and see if it does the same thing then I'll get a new bulb and line. Also do you always pump the bulb before you launch or start it?

Top
#11175352 - 10/20/15 04:22 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/26/12
Posts: 806
Loc: Waxahachie, Texas
I never do now that I have a good bulb.

Top
#11175375 - 10/20/15 04:32 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Fish Killer Offline
Big Sexy

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 25303
Loc: Weatherford
Also check all your air vents on the tanks, raising the motor that far up could have kinked a line.
_________________________
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#11175742 - 10/20/15 08:09 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
shakey H Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/29/14
Posts: 1
Loc: Friendswood/ Broaddus
Had a problem kind of like this with my 06 e-tech. It turn out to be a problem with the fuel pumps, my mechanic replaced both the pumps that are under the cowling and haven't had any more problems. Also thought I had bad gas at first.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide