Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Panhandleag18, Heath419, lrak, jroush, jwhit88
102706 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82852
hopalong 74376
Pilothawk 73417
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59862
Tritonman 56820
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52450
LoneStarSon® 52211
facebook
Forum Stats
102706 Members
61 Forums
858830 Topics
11266426 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11174625 - 10/20/15 11:01 AM E-Tec prob
Ricky Taylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1610
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
2008 evinrude etec 150 118hrs. Taken care of.

Before I launch I always pump the bulb till its firm regardless that it's fuel injected. Well last trip I didn't and... It ran good for a couple hours and then I pulled into a cove and raised the motor ALL the way out of the motor due to stumps. Fished the cove for about 1.5 hours, dropped the motor down and fired right up and jumped on plans like normal. Well when it leveled out on plane I was at 3500-3650 RPMS when I went to give it some more throttle the rpms slowly dropped and I panicked and came to a quick stop and shut her down. Tried to re start, wasn't happening. Checked battery connection and checked bulb, bulb was completely empty, squeezed it and then it got firm. Took a couple cranks but motor started up and ran great again all day. What could have caused this?

Top
#11174634 - 10/20/15 11:05 AM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
buton Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/28/10
Posts: 1365
Loc: Cypress,Tx
bad gas?
_________________________

Top
#11174658 - 10/20/15 11:14 AM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Ricky Taylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1610
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
No sir, I filled it up right before that trip that day.

Top
#11174863 - 10/20/15 12:29 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/26/12
Posts: 802
Loc: Waxahachie, Texas
Ricky, that doesn't always mean you got good gas. All underground gas tanks have condensation in them. They say your never supposed to get gas right after the station gets a load because all the sediment is stirred up. But I had the same problem on my motor. Turned out to be a bad bulb on mine. It would do the exact same thing. Die, pump the bulb and it would run good again. I put a new bulb on it and haven't had the problem since. Don't buy a cheap bulb at Walmart though, get a good Mercury one from a dealer.

Top
#11174965 - 10/20/15 01:09 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Ricky Taylor Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1610
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
Jimmy, I never thought about that. Thank you. I will run it again and see if it does the same thing then I'll get a new bulb and line. Also do you always pump the bulb before you launch or start it?

Top
#11175352 - 10/20/15 04:22 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/26/12
Posts: 802
Loc: Waxahachie, Texas
I never do now that I have a good bulb.

Top
#11175375 - 10/20/15 04:32 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
Fish Killer Online   happy
Big Sexy

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 24887
Loc: Weatherford
Also check all your air vents on the tanks, raising the motor that far up could have kinked a line.
_________________________
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#11175742 - 10/20/15 08:09 PM Re: E-Tec prob [Re: Ricky Taylor]
shakey H Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/29/14
Posts: 1
Loc: Friendswood/ Broaddus
Had a problem kind of like this with my 06 e-tech. It turn out to be a problem with the fuel pumps, my mechanic replaced both the pumps that are under the cowling and haven't had any more problems. Also thought I had bad gas at first.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide