Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
5lbtest, Short fuse 8_5, flymt, ken1, bbrandog
106356 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86921
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75571
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65725
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58859
Tritonman 57719
LoneStarSon® 53705
SkeeterRonnie 53102
facebook
Forum Stats
106356 Members
61 Forums
861925 Topics
12250650 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11172413 - 10/19/15 09:10 AM Navionics and Lowrance question
Desert Angler Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/11/13
Posts: 191
Loc: Midland Texas
When linking two units to share waypoints do you need to have 2 of the same navionics cards or 2 for that matter? I'm wanting to get a navionics plus and I have hot maps south but it's 2010. Will this effect anything when I share waypoints?

Top
#11172456 - 10/19/15 09:27 AM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: Desert Angler]
JimmyP Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/26/12
Posts: 806
Loc: Waxahachie, Texas
If the units are linked you only need one card and any waypoint will be set off of the unit you choose to be your main unit.

Top
#11174274 - 10/20/15 08:31 AM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: Desert Angler]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 930
Loc: Tx
To answer your question, no the Navionics card has nothing to do with your waypoint sharing, it is simple a "read only" overlay card. You can share waypoints between units just fine with the 2 different cards, as your waypoints are stored on the hard drive of the Lowrance unit itself.

On the sharing of the 1 Navionics card, this is only possible with the Gen3 units. If your units are Gen3 and are linked together, you can share a Navionics card between the 2.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top
#11174289 - 10/20/15 08:36 AM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: Desert Angler]
bogey♂ Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/21/08
Posts: 15399
Loc: plano
I have birds, but it's the same (I believe) I run a navionics card at the helm and a lake master at the bow. The waypoint is stored on the unit and shows on the overlay. You will want one for each unless you have a Gen3 like Corey stated above.
_________________________


bassboatseats.com

Top
#11174453 - 10/20/15 09:43 AM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: Corey Stanley]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 6361
Loc: Boerne, Texas
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley


On the sharing of the 1 Navionics card, this is only possible with the Gen3 units. If your units are Gen3 and are linked together, you can share a Navionics card between the 2.



Actually this is wrong info, gen 2's with any software update with 2.0 or newer can do map sharing. It's not a gen3 exclusive feature.


Edited by grout-scout (10/20/15 09:44 AM)

Top
#11175270 - 10/20/15 03:40 PM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: grout-scout]
COHLMEYER Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/21/08
Posts: 3771
Loc: Weatherford, TX
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley


On the sharing of the 1 Navionics card, this is only possible with the Gen3 units. If your units are Gen3 and are linked together, you can share a Navionics card between the 2.



Actually this is wrong info, gen 2's with any software update with 2.0 or newer can do map sharing. It's not a gen3 exclusive feature.


Correct. gen2 does the same thing

Top
#11175283 - 10/20/15 03:47 PM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: COHLMEYER]
WillieKetchum Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/11/15
Posts: 547
Loc: Huntsville, TX
Originally Posted By: COHLMEYER
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
Originally Posted By: Corey Stanley


On the sharing of the 1 Navionics card, this is only possible with the Gen3 units. If your units are Gen3 and are linked together, you can share a Navionics card between the 2.



Actually this is wrong info, gen 2's with any software update with 2.0 or newer can do map sharing. It's not a gen3 exclusive feature.


Correct. gen2 does the same thing


Yep...Gen 2's share the card. Don't even have to have the Gen 3 software.

Top
#11176489 - 10/21/15 09:37 AM Re: Navionics and Lowrance question [Re: Desert Angler]
Corey Stanley Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/26/09
Posts: 930
Loc: Tx
My mistake on the Gen 2 or Gen 3, wasn't 100% sure on the Gen 2, but knew Gen 3 could...sorry about that.
_________________________
www.navionics.com

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide