Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
cxc, TWO2SEVEN, Paul petty, Storyteller, Thomas Huffman
104773 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84841
hopalong 77196
Pilothawk 74576
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63057
FattyMcButterpants 60663
Derek 🐝 57530
Tritonman 57445
SkeeterRonnie 52878
LoneStarSon® 52766
facebook
Forum Stats
104773 Members
60 Forums
840728 Topics
11995853 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11127932 - 09/25/15 06:16 PM Lowrance Elite units
Texan4Liberty Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 07/16/09
Posts: 7095
Loc: San Angelo,Texas
Is it normal for depth finders to lose the depths when on plane, Lowrance or Hummingbird any one I ever put on the boat loses it screen. This Elite is mounted on the transom area as recommended.
_________________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know when to go fishing.

Top
#11128012 - 09/25/15 07:16 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
GTrigg Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/25/14
Posts: 242
Loc: East Texas
I have an Elite 7 at the console and it loses the depth on plan.
_________________________
G. Trigg
Gilmer, TX


Top
#11128017 - 09/25/15 07:18 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
RangerBass21 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/09/15
Posts: 2210
Loc: Plano
Normal, unless you can find that perfect spot where it won't, but you'll prob drill 100000 holes in your boat before you do. Unless you find a way to hold it down to test it out
_________________________
bannana2

Top
#11128043 - 09/25/15 07:38 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Wayne P. Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/16/10
Posts: 3611
Loc: Charlottesville, Va
It's all about the PROPER transducer installation for your particular hull.
_________________________
Humminbird Helix 12 CHIRP SI, 1198c SI, 1198c SI, ONIX 10 SI NT, Helix 7 CHIRP SI GPS G2, SOLIX 12 SI, 360, RC-1

Top
#11128171 - 09/25/15 08:50 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
ryane Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/12/12
Posts: 228
the transducer should be set where the bottom of the ducer is skimming the water while on plane. when installed correctly you should have some reading on plane, also depends on water conditions.

Top
#11128402 - 09/25/15 11:10 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
SteezMacQueen Online   sleepy
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 3758
Loc: Red Oak, Galveston, and Pagosa...
My old humminbird unit on the console never lost status, but it was also using a through hull design transducer. Now, all that changed tonight. I pulled it out installed new units with new transducers. So I guess I will see if the depth issue returns. If it does, I will have to slow down. Lol.
_________________________
Daiwa
Megabass
Lews



Top
#11134477 - 09/29/15 08:21 AM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Texan4Liberty Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 07/16/09
Posts: 7095
Loc: San Angelo,Texas
Should I mount it inside the hull or keep moving it around the transom area?
_________________________
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know when to go fishing.

Top
#11135392 - 09/29/15 03:58 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Jones Trolling Motor Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 460
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
If it's a glass boat, and you're talking about a sonar transducer, the mount inside is best.
John
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top
#11135929 - 09/29/15 08:46 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
DeathByKermit Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 07/28/15
Posts: 7
Loc: Jim Hogg
I just bought my fist boat and I'm having the same problem with my HDS 7, but it seems out of wack overall. What do you guys think?


_________________________
1999 Blue Wave 189 C Special - Yamaha C115


Mean, Green, Pig Phucking Machine...

Top
#11136126 - 09/29/15 10:03 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2361
Loc: Arlington
I hear about people losing the bottom when on plane all the time. I've mounted 3 on my boat and none of them have lost the signal up to 30MPH (all my boat will do). I don't know if I just got lucky all three times or if the shape of my boat just works better than some others. Mine have all been Humminbirds. If you are going to be moving it around a lot to find the right location you might want a Stern Saver to mount it to so you aren't drilling all the holes in the transom.

Top
#11141479 - 10/02/15 12:12 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Chemdawg Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/22/13
Posts: 1236
this fish finder i have now will loose bottom to the prop wash and distortion and when its on a plane its is hardly in the water
but my elite7 i could run 30 and it was fine i think i t has to do with spot place meant boat type jack plate position if you have one I have to drop my jack plate all the way down when i am over 10mph you can try a through hull transducer i have been told the will fix the problem the elite series is known for having a slow processeser any how

Top
#11142474 - 10/02/15 10:03 PM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
Fritz423 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 04/25/12
Posts: 520
Don't your trim tabs cause a lot of turbulence? Makes me wonder if that is the problem.
_________________________
Wishin' I was fishin', and dreaming of beer

Top
#11146154 - 10/05/15 07:46 AM Re: Lowrance Elite units [Re: Texan4Liberty]
bell0347 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/02/12
Posts: 76
Loc: Montgomery,TX
Deathbykermit check all of your settings, sensitivity, color scale, etc. your transducer is mounted between a tunnel hull and a trim tab. Lots of stuff going on right there to create turbulence. With that boat you might not get a good on plane reading. But, you should be fine drifting.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide