Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Fly Fishing for Carp - What to use? #11118729 09/22/15 01:27 AM
Cowtown Kid Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
I am new to fly fishing and I am interested in finding out what flies to use to catch carp. Also, what technique would you use to present the fly.
What kind of leader would be best to use?

texas

Rick Irving
"The Cowtown Kid"
Kayak Fisherman and Real Estate Broker

Angling may be said to be so like the mathematics that it can never be fully learned. ~Izaak Walton
Re: Fly Fishing for Carp - What to use? [Re: Cowtown Kid] #11118983 09/22/15 03:23 AM
Dtheg Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
Spend enough time here and you will find that question is like asking a leprechaun where his/her gold is. (No offense to any leprechaun, I only stereotype from my only knowledge of them from the FANTASTIC movie LEPRECHAUN!) I can tell you I have spent more time in failure attempting to catch carp than any other fish. It will take time and determination. So to the question what fly: dull not flashy, ugly, little wiggly, not too much or spook them, and small. I have used small foam crayfish also. As for technich I try to be sneaky, I have to cast past them and let them work to the fly. Some say "☺️Just cast I front about a dinner plate away Ohhh and be gentle!" Doing this I have smacked more carp in the head, back , or tail than I have caught. . That is lack of my skill plus old fly line. The leader for me is long. I spook more with short leader. Also I seem to cast a little softer with a long leader. Like 9ft plus tippet.

Now that I have said all this, maybe the true carp catchers will chime in and give you better advise. If your looking where to find them ; just about any creek pond river has them. There is also a great map on here from another member. Good luck.