Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Patience #11104047 09/15/15 02:18 AM
Mike Ryan Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
I think back to my earliest days of fishing with my father or grandfather and one of the best lessons I learned from each of them was patience.

But as I graduated from sitting on the bank of a farm pond watching a bobber or the tight lines of rods baited for catfish to chasing bass in a boat, my learned skill of patience took a back seat to if they are not biting here it was time to fire up the big motor and move to another spot where hopefully they were biting. And in that faster paced quest for ole bucket mouth where the grass is always greener over there I lost some of the enjoyment of the here and now.

I think it took my joining the carp fisherman from this forum to bring me back to my roots of exercising patience because as those of you who have targeted carp, they are often a fish that requires a great deal of patience.

I know some fish require more pursuit than others, but even for those species of fish, I believe patience will pay off more often than not.

So how much emphasis on patience do you place when fishing ?

Re: Patience [Re: Mike Ryan] #11104620 09/15/15 01:45 PM
J
J-Moe Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
J
Unfortunately I have 2 kids in college so I don't have that bass boat with the big motor yet, LOL!!! I kayak fish, wade fish and bank fish. About 90 percent of the time I fish with a fly rod, as well. This somewhat dictates that I must be patient in order to be successful. I am extremely patient and try to cover an area thoroughly before I move on.

Re: Patience [Re: Mike Ryan] #11105026 09/15/15 04:25 PM
Mike Ryan Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
J-Moe,