Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BatsRy, Bassman1284, Bone1095, Marcus Smith, Justfishy
104004 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84242
hopalong 76001
Pilothawk 74236
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 62207
FattyMcButterpants 60649
Tritonman 57324
Derek 57190
SkeeterRonnie 52718
LoneStarSon® 52591
facebook
Forum Stats
104004 Members
61 Forums
833379 Topics
11905491 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11103414 - 09/14/15 04:19 PM Why Braid on a Crappie pole
Lollygagger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/31/14
Posts: 128
Loc: East Texas
I've noticed throughout several posts where people say that they use braided line on their crappie poles. I'm curious what the reasoning behind using the braid is.
_________________________
"But God demonstrates His own for love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." (Romans 5:8)

Top
#11103533 - 09/14/15 05:24 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
TR176 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/10
Posts: 2829
Loc: Little Elm
No stretch, sensitivity, no twist on spinning gear, very low diameter for lb. test,

Top
#11103550 - 09/14/15 05:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
larry mays Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/24/14
Posts: 869
Loc: Winnsboro, Texas
Ever one should give a braid a try, I don't like it myself. One of a lot of reason's is the low diameter you will break more rod tips and put more wear on the rod. also hang a bigger bass, are catfish while crappie fishing you can get a bad line cut out of it. So many people do like it must be ok.

Top
#11104133 - 09/14/15 09:48 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Grainraiser Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/10/09
Posts: 2477
Loc: Mesquite TX
I mostly use braid when fishing deep water like bridge pilings. The main advantage is braid is very sensitive and you can feel every peck. Those same bites will be easily missed with mono. I never use it during the spring because the water I am fishing is shallow and I see no need for it.

Reggie

Top
#11104359 - 09/15/15 04:59 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
tboxfish Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/07
Posts: 5096
Loc: A small blue spot on planet ea...
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap
_________________________
Todd Box
"Helping YOU catch MORE & LARGER fish!"

Todd's Crappie Tutorial Trips
Cell 903-588-0129

Top
#11104381 - 09/15/15 05:55 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2307
Loc: Yantis, TX
No stretch, sensitivity, strength, and how it lays on a spinning reel.

Gman
_________________________


Top
#11104810 - 09/15/15 09:58 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
crope1 Offline
Ronnie Hurt'em Roberts

Registered: 05/20/10
Posts: 6094
Loc: mansfield,tx
what about using it on a baitcaster?

Top
#11104871 - 09/15/15 10:21 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Tommie Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/18/10
Posts: 899
Loc: Longview, Tx
Tried it.......didn't like it. Use nothing but Stren Clear Blue now. It disappears under the water and is very visible on top of the water.
_________________________


Top
#11104922 - 09/15/15 10:43 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
ou.sooner Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/14/03
Posts: 469
Loc: Little Elm, TX, USA
I typically fish a single or double jig set up. Occasionally a minnow. What would be a good lb test to use for me to try out braid?
_________________________
https://twitter.com/bsooner75

Top
#11105144 - 09/15/15 12:42 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: tboxfish]
Stucky76 Online   happy
TFF Guru

Registered: 06/04/07
Posts: 11115
Loc: Bedford, TX
Originally Posted By: tboxfish
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap


This^

The leader is also better to use so you can re-tie quickly without having to use scissors. You can usually just pull a jighead straight out of the brush if you get hung up and won't lose as many as you do with breaking off on mono. I use braid on all of my rods except for my dock shooter and slip cork rod.
_________________________

Top
#11107872 - 09/16/15 03:39 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Duck_Jerky Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/21/02
Posts: 4886
Loc: Kaufman, TX
For years, I was a mono guy...then gave braid a try about 8 years ago, now all 20 reels have braid on them. Just buy you a small spool and try it for 4-5 trips. There really is a big difference over mono, but it's not for everyone.
_________________________
Brian Carter
Sponsors:
www.bnmpoles.com - Quality Rods For Over 60 Years
www.youtube.com/BnMFishingPoles - YouTube Channel
www.beereadys.com - Bee Ready Rod Holders
www.lftlures.com - Innovative, quality fishing lures made in the USA

Top
#11107877 - 09/16/15 03:44 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Crappie Hogger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 22
Braid is also pretty good on lakes with heavy zebra muscle population

Top
#11107883 - 09/16/15 03:46 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Duck_Jerky]
dwmoore Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/23/07
Posts: 4122
Loc: teague,tx
Dang jerky you finally crawl out from under that rock?12 rods that means your still cheatin and drowning menners.Glad to see your ALIVE.Ha Darrell
_________________________

Top
#11108502 - 09/16/15 08:14 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Buz Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/26/14
Posts: 88
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Ok I'm game to give this a try. So what line pound test should be used for the braided line for crappie fishing, and what pound test should be used for the 18 -36" ???? flouro leader. Would appreciate some input, like a lot of this forum, I'll be back on the water Friday am. I will provide a report as soon as possible to my impressions on braided line and flouro leaders. You guys, know way more about this than I do......would really appreciate your inputs....

Top
#11108692 - 09/16/15 09:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
YAMADOGGY Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/26/03
Posts: 226
Loc: FT WORTH,TX,USA
look at the pound test vs line dia. I have 12 lb test braid that if I recall is 4 lb dia. equivalent so 4 lb dia. but with 12/14 lb test of strength

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide