Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JustinStokesOutdoors, Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop, Gadawgs
102735 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82895
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73446
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59917
Tritonman 56837
Derek 56446
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52227
facebook
Forum Stats
102735 Members
61 Forums
859352 Topics
11274028 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11103414 - 09/14/15 04:19 PM Why Braid on a Crappie pole
Lollygagger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/31/14
Posts: 118
Loc: East Texas
I've noticed throughout several posts where people say that they use braided line on their crappie poles. I'm curious what the reasoning behind using the braid is.
_________________________
"But God demonstrates His own for love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." (Romans 5:8)

Top
#11103533 - 09/14/15 05:24 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
TR176 Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/17/10
Posts: 2556
Loc: Little Elm
No stretch, sensitivity, no twist on spinning gear, very low diameter for lb. test,

Top
#11103550 - 09/14/15 05:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
larry mays Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/24/14
Posts: 863
Loc: Winnsboro, Texas
Ever one should give a braid a try, I don't like it myself. One of a lot of reason's is the low diameter you will break more rod tips and put more wear on the rod. also hang a bigger bass, are catfish while crappie fishing you can get a bad line cut out of it. So many people do like it must be ok.

Top
#11104133 - 09/14/15 09:48 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Grainraiser Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/10/09
Posts: 2414
Loc: Mesquite TX
I mostly use braid when fishing deep water like bridge pilings. The main advantage is braid is very sensitive and you can feel every peck. Those same bites will be easily missed with mono. I never use it during the spring because the water I am fishing is shallow and I see no need for it.

Reggie

Top
#11104359 - 09/15/15 04:59 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
tboxfish Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/08/07
Posts: 4936
Loc: A small blue spot on planet ea...
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap
_________________________
Todd Box
"Helping YOU catch MORE & LARGER fish!"

http://www.texasdeercams.com "Your closer to the Outdoors that You think!"

Top
#11104381 - 09/15/15 05:55 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2036
Loc: Yantis, TX
No stretch, sensitivity, strength, and how it lays on a spinning reel.

Gman
_________________________


Top
#11104810 - 09/15/15 09:58 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
crope1 Online   content
Ronnie Hurt'em Roberts

Registered: 05/20/10
Posts: 5908
Loc: mansfield,tx
what about using it on a baitcaster?

Top
#11104871 - 09/15/15 10:21 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Tommie Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/18/10
Posts: 899
Loc: Longview, Tx
Tried it.......didn't like it. Use nothing but Stren Clear Blue now. It disappears under the water and is very visible on top of the water.
_________________________


Top
#11104922 - 09/15/15 10:43 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
ou.sooner Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/14/03
Posts: 459
Loc: Little Elm, TX, USA
I typically fish a single or double jig set up. Occasionally a minnow. What would be a good lb test to use for me to try out braid?
_________________________
https://twitter.com/bsooner75

Top
#11105144 - 09/15/15 12:42 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: tboxfish]
Stucky76 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 06/04/07
Posts: 11095
Loc: Bedford, TX
Originally Posted By: tboxfish
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap


This^

The leader is also better to use so you can re-tie quickly without having to use scissors. You can usually just pull a jighead straight out of the brush if you get hung up and won't lose as many as you do with breaking off on mono. I use braid on all of my rods except for my dock shooter and slip cork rod.
_________________________

Top
#11107872 - 09/16/15 03:39 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Duck_Jerky Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/21/02
Posts: 4868
Loc: Kaufman, TX
For years, I was a mono guy...then gave braid a try about 8 years ago, now all 20 reels have braid on them. Just buy you a small spool and try it for 4-5 trips. There really is a big difference over mono, but it's not for everyone.
_________________________
Brian Carter
Sponsors:
www.bnmpoles.com - Quality Rods For Over 60 Years
www.youtube.com/BnMFishingPoles - YouTube Channel
www.driftmaster.com - Driftmaster Rod Holders
www.lftlures.com - Innovative, quality fishing lures made in the USA

Top
#11107877 - 09/16/15 03:44 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Crappie Hogger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 22
Braid is also pretty good on lakes with heavy zebra muscle population

Top
#11107883 - 09/16/15 03:46 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Duck_Jerky]
Happy Birthday dwmoore Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/23/07
Posts: 4051
Loc: teague,tx
Dang jerky you finally crawl out from under that rock?12 rods that means your still cheatin and drowning menners.Glad to see your ALIVE.Ha Darrell
_________________________

Top
#11108502 - 09/16/15 08:14 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Buz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/26/14
Posts: 71
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Ok I'm game to give this a try. So what line pound test should be used for the braided line for crappie fishing, and what pound test should be used for the 18 -36" ???? flouro leader. Would appreciate some input, like a lot of this forum, I'll be back on the water Friday am. I will provide a report as soon as possible to my impressions on braided line and flouro leaders. You guys, know way more about this than I do......would really appreciate your inputs....

Top
#11108692 - 09/16/15 09:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
YAMADOGGY Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/26/03
Posts: 226
Loc: FT WORTH,TX,USA
look at the pound test vs line dia. I have 12 lb test braid that if I recall is 4 lb dia. equivalent so 4 lb dia. but with 12/14 lb test of strength

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide