Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
WithoutaPaddle, Kevitt1018, WHATYOUSAY99, kbarnes027, Fxrspud 12
106346 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86905
hopalong 78788
Pilothawk 75547
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65718
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58852
Tritonman 57703
LoneStarSon® 53688
SkeeterRonnie 53098
facebook
Forum Stats
106346 Members
61 Forums
861754 Topics
12248383 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#11103414 - 09/14/15 04:19 PM Why Braid on a Crappie pole
Lollygagger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/31/14
Posts: 154
Loc: East Texas
I've noticed throughout several posts where people say that they use braided line on their crappie poles. I'm curious what the reasoning behind using the braid is.
_________________________
"But God demonstrates His own for love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us." (Romans 5:8)

Top
#11103533 - 09/14/15 05:24 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
TR176 Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 07/17/10
Posts: 3378
Loc: Little Elm
No stretch, sensitivity, no twist on spinning gear, very low diameter for lb. test,

Top
#11103550 - 09/14/15 05:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
larry mays Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/24/14
Posts: 869
Loc: Winnsboro, Texas
Ever one should give a braid a try, I don't like it myself. One of a lot of reason's is the low diameter you will break more rod tips and put more wear on the rod. also hang a bigger bass, are catfish while crappie fishing you can get a bad line cut out of it. So many people do like it must be ok.

Top
#11104133 - 09/14/15 09:48 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Grainraiser Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/10/09
Posts: 2501
Loc: Mesquite TX
I mostly use braid when fishing deep water like bridge pilings. The main advantage is braid is very sensitive and you can feel every peck. Those same bites will be easily missed with mono. I never use it during the spring because the water I am fishing is shallow and I see no need for it.

Reggie

Top
#11104359 - 09/15/15 04:59 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
tboxfish Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/07
Posts: 5210
Loc: A small blue spot on planet ea...
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap
_________________________
Todd Box
THERMOCLINE LURES
"Helping YOU catch MORE & LARGER fish!"

Todd's Crappie Tutorial Trips
Cell 903-588-0129

Top
#11104381 - 09/15/15 05:55 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2937
Loc: Yantis, TX
No stretch, sensitivity, strength, and how it lays on a spinning reel.

Gman
_________________________
Texas Crappie Posse

Top
#11104810 - 09/15/15 09:58 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
crope1 Online   content
Ronnie Hurt'em Roberts

Registered: 05/20/10
Posts: 6588
Loc: mansfield,tx
what about using it on a baitcaster?

Top
#11104871 - 09/15/15 10:21 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Tommie Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/18/10
Posts: 900
Loc: Longview, Tx
Tried it.......didn't like it. Use nothing but Stren Clear Blue now. It disappears under the water and is very visible on top of the water.
_________________________


Top
#11104922 - 09/15/15 10:43 AM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
ou.sooner Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/14/03
Posts: 484
Loc: Little Elm, TX, USA
I typically fish a single or double jig set up. Occasionally a minnow. What would be a good lb test to use for me to try out braid?
_________________________
https://twitter.com/bsooner75

Top
#11105144 - 09/15/15 12:42 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: tboxfish]
Stucky76 Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 06/04/07
Posts: 11127
Loc: Bedford, TX
Originally Posted By: tboxfish
I have it on all my rods except for my slip cork rig. I even shoot docks with it.
Don't forget to use a flouro leader. Some say you don't need a leader, but I wouldn't tie a jig on without it!
The "WHY" is listed above - but it's mostly the sensitivity for me clap


This^

The leader is also better to use so you can re-tie quickly without having to use scissors. You can usually just pull a jighead straight out of the brush if you get hung up and won't lose as many as you do with breaking off on mono. I use braid on all of my rods except for my dock shooter and slip cork rod.

Top
#11107872 - 09/16/15 03:39 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Duck_Jerky Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 02/21/02
Posts: 4948
Loc: Kaufman, TX
For years, I was a mono guy...then gave braid a try about 8 years ago, now all 20 reels have braid on them. Just buy you a small spool and try it for 4-5 trips. There really is a big difference over mono, but it's not for everyone.
_________________________
Brian Carter
Sponsors:
www.bnmpoles.com - Quality Rods For Over 60 Years
www.youtube.com/BnMFishingPoles - YouTube Channel
www.beereadys.com - Bee Ready Rod Holders
www.lftlures.com - Innovative, quality fishing lures made in the USA

Top
#11107877 - 09/16/15 03:44 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Crappie Hogger Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/12/15
Posts: 22
Braid is also pretty good on lakes with heavy zebra muscle population

Top
#11107883 - 09/16/15 03:46 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Duck_Jerky]
dwmoore Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/23/07
Posts: 4185
Loc: teague,tx
Dang jerky you finally crawl out from under that rock?12 rods that means your still cheatin and drowning menners.Glad to see your ALIVE.Ha Darrell
_________________________

Top
#11108502 - 09/16/15 08:14 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
Buz Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/26/14
Posts: 94
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Ok I'm game to give this a try. So what line pound test should be used for the braided line for crappie fishing, and what pound test should be used for the 18 -36" ???? flouro leader. Would appreciate some input, like a lot of this forum, I'll be back on the water Friday am. I will provide a report as soon as possible to my impressions on braided line and flouro leaders. You guys, know way more about this than I do......would really appreciate your inputs....

Top
#11108692 - 09/16/15 09:35 PM Re: Why Braid on a Crappie pole [Re: Lollygagger]
YAMADOGGY Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/26/03
Posts: 233
Loc: FT WORTH,TX,USA
look at the pound test vs line dia. I have 12 lb test braid that if I recall is 4 lb dia. equivalent so 4 lb dia. but with 12/14 lb test of strength

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide