Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
WYOYYZ, PondChamp, Justin, Texas, texaslex, RodeoTime
105175 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85233
hopalong 77706
Pilothawk 74810
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 63781
FattyMcButterpants 60667
Derek 🐝 57789
Tritonman 57476
SkeeterRonnie 52918
LoneStarSon® 52908
facebook
Forum Stats
105175 Members
60 Forums
845130 Topics
12050107 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11097790 - 09/11/15 10:43 PM how do you run a transducer cable?
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 76
Im trying to run a transducer cable from a center console to the back of the boat. I cant get the transducer cable to go through the pipe leading to the back with all the other wires. I have a line tied the transducer cable trying to pull it through but it get stuck or doesn't want to go through. Can I put some type of lubricant on it to make it go through easier? what am I doing wrong here.

Top
#11097833 - 09/12/15 12:10 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 4307
Loc: Burleson,TX
You can lube it but it may just be twisted around other cables, it will usually take a fish tape(or something similar) and some patience. just have to keep threading it through till ya get it

Top
#11097834 - 09/12/15 12:14 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2503
Loc: Arlington
May be zip ties on other wires in there catching it. A fish tape works pretty good. Maybe if you found some type of pipe that you could feed into it that would fit the transducer cable. Good luck.

Top
#11098538 - 09/12/15 03:33 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Bobby Milam]
Allan W Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1183
Loc: EM Lake
Find a cone shaped object like the end you cut off a tube of caulk that is a little bigger in diameter than the the transducer connector. Drill a small hole in the end big enough for you to get the string through. Slide the string through the cone and tie it on behind the connector. Tape the cone to the connector so it will stay lined up and if you have to pull back the cone wont stay in there. It will spread the other wires and cables out of the way as it goes. Also tie on another string to pull in for future use, always pull a new string when pulling the old one out. Keep working at it and you will get it. Don't force it.

Top
#11102963 - 09/14/15 12:18 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7311
Loc: Rockwall
Vasoline

Top
#11103472 - 09/14/15 04:53 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 1703
Vasoline will make a big mess of your gunnels.

Go to the electrical aisle at HomeDepot or lowes (or Amazon.com)and buy a small container of conduit wire lube...it will do the same or better job than vasoline and fully evaporate and disappear in a short while.
_________________________

Top
#11104266 - 09/14/15 10:55 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 76
Got it done. bought a fish tape which made it so much easier. added a little lube to it and got it through after 10 minutes of messing with it. Thanks guys!

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide