Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82877
hopalong 74395
Pilothawk 73439
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59900
Tritonman 56831
Derek 56425
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859182 Topics
11271417 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11097790 - 09/11/15 10:43 PM how do you run a transducer cable?
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 69
Im trying to run a transducer cable from a center console to the back of the boat. I cant get the transducer cable to go through the pipe leading to the back with all the other wires. I have a line tied the transducer cable trying to pull it through but it get stuck or doesn't want to go through. Can I put some type of lubricant on it to make it go through easier? what am I doing wrong here.

Top
#11097833 - 09/12/15 12:10 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 3428
Loc: Burleson,TX
You can lube it but it may just be twisted around other cables, it will usually take a fish tape(or something similar) and some patience. just have to keep threading it through till ya get it

Top
#11097834 - 09/12/15 12:14 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 1999
Loc: Arlington
May be zip ties on other wires in there catching it. A fish tape works pretty good. Maybe if you found some type of pipe that you could feed into it that would fit the transducer cable. Good luck.

Top
#11098538 - 09/12/15 03:33 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Bobby Milam]
Allan W Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1166
Loc: EM Lake
Find a cone shaped object like the end you cut off a tube of caulk that is a little bigger in diameter than the the transducer connector. Drill a small hole in the end big enough for you to get the string through. Slide the string through the cone and tie it on behind the connector. Tape the cone to the connector so it will stay lined up and if you have to pull back the cone wont stay in there. It will spread the other wires and cables out of the way as it goes. Also tie on another string to pull in for future use, always pull a new string when pulling the old one out. Keep working at it and you will get it. Don't force it.

Top
#11102963 - 09/14/15 12:18 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Stump jumper Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 6983
Loc: Rockwall
Vasoline

Top
#11103472 - 09/14/15 04:53 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 1675
Vasoline will make a big mess of your gunnels.

Go to the electrical aisle at HomeDepot or lowes (or Amazon.com)and buy a small container of conduit wire lube...it will do the same or better job than vasoline and fully evaporate and disappear in a short while.
_________________________

Top
#11104266 - 09/14/15 10:55 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 69
Got it done. bought a fish tape which made it so much easier. added a little lube to it and got it through after 10 minutes of messing with it. Thanks guys!

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide