Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Trey76, Mav Tex, Tippet, NMH17, 08RangerZ21
104479 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84514
hopalong 76632
Pilothawk 74378
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62536
FattyMcButterpants 60659
Tritonman 57370
Derek 57351
SkeeterRonnie 52798
LoneStarSon® 52663
facebook
Forum Stats
104479 Members
60 Forums
787338 Topics
9953668 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11097790 - 09/11/15 10:43 PM how do you run a transducer cable?
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 76
Im trying to run a transducer cable from a center console to the back of the boat. I cant get the transducer cable to go through the pipe leading to the back with all the other wires. I have a line tied the transducer cable trying to pull it through but it get stuck or doesn't want to go through. Can I put some type of lubricant on it to make it go through easier? what am I doing wrong here.

Top
#11097833 - 09/12/15 12:10 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
44 Diesel Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/25/12
Posts: 4154
Loc: Burleson,TX
You can lube it but it may just be twisted around other cables, it will usually take a fish tape(or something similar) and some patience. just have to keep threading it through till ya get it

Top
#11097834 - 09/12/15 12:14 AM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2304
Loc: Arlington
May be zip ties on other wires in there catching it. A fish tape works pretty good. Maybe if you found some type of pipe that you could feed into it that would fit the transducer cable. Good luck.

Top
#11098538 - 09/12/15 03:33 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Bobby Milam]
Allan W Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1180
Loc: EM Lake
Find a cone shaped object like the end you cut off a tube of caulk that is a little bigger in diameter than the the transducer connector. Drill a small hole in the end big enough for you to get the string through. Slide the string through the cone and tie it on behind the connector. Tape the cone to the connector so it will stay lined up and if you have to pull back the cone wont stay in there. It will spread the other wires and cables out of the way as it goes. Also tie on another string to pull in for future use, always pull a new string when pulling the old one out. Keep working at it and you will get it. Don't force it.

Top
#11102963 - 09/14/15 12:18 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 7195
Loc: Rockwall
Vasoline

Top
#11103472 - 09/14/15 04:53 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 1702
Vasoline will make a big mess of your gunnels.

Go to the electrical aisle at HomeDepot or lowes (or Amazon.com)and buy a small container of conduit wire lube...it will do the same or better job than vasoline and fully evaporate and disappear in a short while.
_________________________

Top
#11104266 - 09/14/15 10:55 PM Re: how do you run a transducer cable? [Re: Sand_Fly]
Sand_Fly Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/29/13
Posts: 76
Got it done. bought a fish tape which made it so much easier. added a little lube to it and got it through after 10 minutes of messing with it. Thanks guys!

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide