Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82883
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73443
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59904
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56432
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859247 Topics
11272431 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11096302 - 09/11/15 09:04 AM can you splice a transducer?
bccougar Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/11/08
Posts: 880
May be a dumb question....but I cut my transducer wire on my 859 Humminbird and wondered if anyone had ever tried to splice one and if they were successful? I will replace it, but was just wondering if it were possible to get it working till my new one arrives.
_________________________

www.anglersprotackle.com -Anglers Pro Tackle Pro staff
www.doublezzcustomlures.com -Double ZZ Custom Lures
www.mercurymarine.com -Mercury Pro Staff
www.power-pole.com -Power-Pole Pro Staff
www.midwestmarineonline.com -Midwest Marine



Top
#11096516 - 09/11/15 10:19 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
boatman025 Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/16/10
Posts: 360
Loc: McKinney
I would say no
_________________________
Hughes Marine Service
McKinney ,Texas

Top
#11096564 - 09/11/15 10:35 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Pat Goff Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/29/05
Posts: 4994
Loc: Marble Falls/Seadrift
It takes a very steady hand with a soldering iron, I've spliced quite a few successfully, use dual wall heat shrink to insulate each wire.
_________________________
Pat Goff
Marble Falls/Seadrift TX

Top
#11099982 - 09/13/15 09:29 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Bob Landry Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/10/11
Posts: 2039
Loc: Austin, Tx
I wanted to shorten a transducer cable and asked Humminbird if it could be done. Naturally, they said to not do it, but I'm with Pat. The wires are soldered on the plug ends, so as long as you insure you don't get a cold solder joint and make sure the shields remain in tact, I don't see why it couldn't be done. I think the customer no-service guys tell you stuff just to get you off the phone so they won't have to deal with you.
_________________________
2015 Seaark 1872 MV CC Etec-90
Helix 12 CHIRP SI, HB 1199, MinnKota Riptide ST80/i-pilot Link, Bob's Hydraulic

Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel

Top
#11103145 - 09/14/15 01:56 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
bccougar Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/11/08
Posts: 880
thanks guys
_________________________

www.anglersprotackle.com -Anglers Pro Tackle Pro staff
www.doublezzcustomlures.com -Double ZZ Custom Lures
www.mercurymarine.com -Mercury Pro Staff
www.power-pole.com -Power-Pole Pro Staff
www.midwestmarineonline.com -Midwest Marine



Top
#11112616 - 09/18/15 08:25 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
SoonerDG Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/15/02
Posts: 1465
Loc: Joshua, TX
Check YouTube. There are a couple of videos on doing this.
_________________________
"Life is a matter of luck and the odds of success are in no way enhanced by extreme caution." - Erich Topp, German U-boat Commander, 1943.

When in doubt, set the hook.

Top
#11117038 - 09/21/15 12:33 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
ifeliciano Offline
Angler

Registered: 07/29/07
Posts: 415
Loc: Mansfield/Arlington, TX
_________________________

GO ARMY!

Top
#11119045 - 09/21/15 10:59 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: Bob Landry]
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 1676
If you have and are familiar with the use of a TDR scope you can do the splicing and will quickly understand how that without it, the results of blindly spicing the connection are at best, going to be poor. The resultant deficiencies will be easily seen on the sonar screens if you were to ever view two Sonars side by side. The transducer cable itself is a tuned circuit and a blindly soldered connection no matter how pretty it appears will attenuate the sonar transmit signal and cause false echos that are displayed but not really there.

But if you just want to see the bottom and get a few distorted echos, solder away.
_________________________

Top
#11121941 - 09/23/15 08:50 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
BODA Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/10/14
Posts: 220
Loc: Eagle Mountain Lake
Lou is right, I work on medical equipment for a living and have been taught way more than I cared to about ultrasound theory (pretty much the same as a sonar). you could splice it, but it may not work as designed. If youre ordering a new one it will work in a pinch I would imagine.

Top
#11122079 - 09/23/15 09:52 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Pat Goff Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/29/05
Posts: 4994
Loc: Marble Falls/Seadrift
I'm calling BS, repaired way too many transducer cables with 100% success. It ain't rocket science.

You have a center conductor, *IF* I properly solder those together, there should be zero loss of signal. If that is sealed and the shielded outer section is properly soldered, and shielded tape inserted between the outer and inner layers, and then it's all sealed up correctly, there is NO reason why it should give any less than 100% of original performance. Never said it was easy, it takes the right tools, but it's far from impossible.
_________________________
Pat Goff
Marble Falls/Seadrift TX

Top
#11123478 - 09/23/15 07:01 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Freeman Clark Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/05
Posts: 1258
Loc: Temple, Texas
Where is Larry the cable guy when we need him?

Top
#11126641 - 09/25/15 08:44 AM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Bob Landry Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/10/11
Posts: 2039
Loc: Austin, Tx
With good soldering skills it should be very doable. if not, then cold solder joints will make you crazy. A cold solder joint here is not your friend.
These are not tuned circuits. Look at cables of different lengths and you will not see any type of tuning device.
_________________________
2015 Seaark 1872 MV CC Etec-90
Helix 12 CHIRP SI, HB 1199, MinnKota Riptide ST80/i-pilot Link, Bob's Hydraulic

Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel

Top
#11131272 - 09/27/15 03:47 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Lou r Pitcher Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 1676
If never using a TDR scope ( or knowing what one is) or having worked with complex RF signal frequencies, a repair tech might be unaware of how solder spliced connections can be perfectly soldered to the eye and pass any DC voltages, yet always are going to simultaneously be both good and bad for different frequencies....frequencies much needed by the sonar. The bad frequencies at the bad splice get reflected and will be mistaken as false echos and actual echos can get attenuated.

Having a good and continuous center conductor and fully sealed coaxial shielding splice is not difficult or hard to achieve by a trained certified soldering tech, but that does not make an RF connection proper.....yes, you will see a lake bottom, with reduced sensitivity and display a few but distorted representation view of fish and cover and that could be called "repaired" if that is good enough for your needs.



_________________________

Top
#11131477 - 09/27/15 06:34 PM Re: can you splice a transducer? [Re: bccougar]
Pat Goff Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 01/29/05
Posts: 4994
Loc: Marble Falls/Seadrift
I'll splice a cable.
We can hook up a new and the repaired transducer. If you can tell the difference lunch is on me along with my public announcement if ignorance.

If you can't, well we can decide what to do.

I will tell you I won't be using a Home Depot solder gun and plumbers solder but I don't do it for a living either.
_________________________
Pat Goff
Marble Falls/Seadrift TX

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide