Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tag4233, TheMostRKM, CostaRicaPro, Howlin' Wolf, btuna
103595 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84032
hopalong 75521
Pilothawk 74030
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 61862
FattyMcButterpants 60638
Tritonman 57286
Derek 57034
SkeeterRonnie 52610
LoneStarSon® 52538
facebook
Forum Stats
103595 Members
61 Forums
869459 Topics
11408597 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11084772 - 09/05/15 08:48 AM Lowrance setup help or opinion needed.
nt325 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/12/02
Posts: 233
Loc: Irving Texas
I have a HDS7 with LSS. Can I setup the unit to work in the front as well as the rear. I know I would have to move the head and the unit would be reading the back of the boat, but at this point and time I can't affor another unit. Any opinion if this is wise and what i would need to accomplish this. thanks.

Top
#11084894 - 09/05/15 09:55 AM Re: Lowrance setup help or opinion needed. [Re: nt325]
grout-scout Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5595
Loc: Boerne, Texas
It would be tough moving it each time since the connectors aren't easy to attach. You could put it on a mount that will spin, allowing you to view it from both places.


A lot of money could get tied up in this if you move the head unit. Extension cables, extra power cable, mount.

I know money is tight but you'd be better off finding a used graph in the HDS series for what moving the head would cost.


Edited by grout-scout (09/05/15 10:00 AM)

Top
#11087690 - 09/07/15 06:20 AM Re: Lowrance setup help or opinion needed. [Re: grout-scout]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2262
Loc: Yantis, TX
Originally Posted By: grout-scout
It would be tough moving it each time since the connectors aren't easy to attach. You could put it on a mount that will spin, allowing you to view it from both places.


A lot of money could get tied up in this if you move the head unit. Extension cables, extra power cable, mount.

I know money is tight but you'd be better off finding a used graph in the HDS series for what moving the head would cost.

+1

Gman
_________________________


Top
#11087750 - 09/07/15 08:12 AM Re: Lowrance setup help or opinion needed. [Re: nt325]
javelin150 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/19/06
Posts: 767
Loc: Waco, TX
You would need to buy another gimbal mount, power cable and ethernet cable. About $100 worth of stuff and you could make it work. The ethernet cable would allow you to read all the transducers from the back of the boat. You could also keep your eyes out for a used HDS 5 and all you could link them with justvthr ethernet cable. Used HDS 5's can be found for $300 bucks or so

Top
#11089251 - 09/07/15 09:21 PM Re: Lowrance setup help or opinion needed. [Re: nt325]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2191
Loc: Arlington
I only had one unit when I first got my boat. I don't think you'd want to take the time that it would be to move it every time. How about just putting on a mount that will spin? I would rotate mine to face the front. It was a PIA to always look back but it worked until I got the money to buy a 2nd. By the time you buy the cable and mounts. It would be easier and cheaper just to buy a used cheap 2d sonar and mount it up front.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide