Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Beginner's Luck #11066972 08/27/15 03:19 PM
Laner Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
"What are you doing this afternoon? I'm thinking about hitting the water and have an open seat if you're in the area." After absolutely no thought at all, I told Greg "The Natural" Poort that I would indeed be filling that once open seat, allowing me an opportunity to fish a lake I hadn't even laid eyes on since I graduated high school from the great Joshua, Texas. "If you'll meet me around 3:15, we can fish until 6:00 or so and should have a one man limit. I can't promise you they'll all be huge, but I'm excited to get out there if that says anything." Trying not to not let myself sound too much like a gitty school girl, "dude, I haven't felt a thump in two weeks, and I just want to catch a crappie."

We hit Benbrook running full speed from a ramp that I later found out was the hottest spot for guys to meet other guys in the surrounding areas. Looking at Greg, "I guess that explains all the weird looks I was getting. I just figured I needed to make sure to lock my doors and hide my stuff, I didn't realize I was the new item on the menu. I'm grade A beef, you know?"

We're scooting along at a good clip, and I can tell by the straight line we're running that the captain knows exactly where we are going to start our search. Looking around the craft, I quickly decide that I like this boat. It's a no frills aluminum shell with all the money tied up into good electronics and a good trolling motor. My kind of ride. With a side image on front, and another on the console, the fish on this lake don't seem to stand much of a chance. I've never fished with Greg. I've never even met the guy until today, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I am in for a treat on this Monday afternoon.