Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
natandmatt6214, Ranger999, tvaughn, SGTSPRAY, cvaughn13
103090 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83614
hopalong 74921
Pilothawk 73768
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 60865
FattyMcButterpants 60574
Tritonman 57159
Derek 56799
SkeeterRonnie 52557
LoneStarSon® 52396
facebook
Forum Stats
103090 Members
61 Forums
864111 Topics
11341690 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11065036 - 08/26/15 11:24 AM Lowrance hds 8 gen 1
RangerBass21 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/09/15
Posts: 2210
Loc: Plano
This unit was given to me as a gift for doing some side work for a customer, includes structure scan box and lss1 transducer , I wanna hook it up and see if it works , where do you put the lss1 box at? And is the structure scan and down imaging good as the new ones or just the same but older?
_________________________
bannana2

Top
#11065109 - 08/26/15 12:01 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
David Burton Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 1523
Loc: McKinney, TX
The box can be placed pretty much anywhere in the boat. Would recommend under the driver console, connected to a switch. There are software and speed updates from gen 1 to 2, Touch, and 3. Each got progressively better. But gen 1 is still passable.
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21


Top
#11065112 - 08/26/15 12:03 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: David Burton]
RangerBass21 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/09/15
Posts: 2210
Loc: Plano
Originally Posted By: David Burton
The box can be placed pretty much anywhere in the boat. Would recommend under the driver console, connected to a switch. There are software and speed updates from gen 1 to 2, Touch, and 3. Each got progressively better. But gen 1 is still passable.


A switch? And is the imaging good? I watched older YouTube videos and side imaging and down imaging looked good.
_________________________
bannana2

Top
#11065137 - 08/26/15 12:15 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
RO519 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 11/15/11
Posts: 4548
Loc: Clutch City
Originally Posted By: RangerBass21
Originally Posted By: David Burton
The box can be placed pretty much anywhere in the boat. Would recommend under the driver console, connected to a switch. There are software and speed updates from gen 1 to 2, Touch, and 3. Each got progressively better. But gen 1 is still passable.


A switch? And is the imaging good? I watched older YouTube videos and side imaging and down imaging looked good.


Yea a switch. I put my on a simple rocker switch.

Obviously the imaging isn't as good as the newer ones, but it is better than nothing.
_________________________
Fightin' Texas Aggie '14


Top
#11065200 - 08/26/15 12:51 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
Rick Collis Online   content
Angler

Registered: 02/09/07
Posts: 435
Loc: Lake Fork, Texas
PM sent. The imaging is good if installed correctly.
_________________________
Rick Collis
903-473-8820

Top
#11065209 - 08/26/15 12:53 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
bladeslinger Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/22/08
Posts: 456
Loc: Rockwall Tx.
Place the box in your rod locker in front of dash if possible that way you can keep it locked up.You will need a switch on the power to the box ,when you turn off your graph the box will still be hot and drain your battery when not in use.You can see sonar without turning on the sidescan box and flip the switch when you are using scan mode.Dont forget to turn it off when you store your boat.

Top
#11065819 - 08/26/15 06:00 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
Diesel Doctor Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/14/11
Posts: 244
Loc: Carrollton, Texas
Lots of wiring and schematics on BBC Boards and here also. I am using Gen 1 HDS 8 and 7 up front. I think it works great. Mounted mine under the dash, and switched it to my master conrol. One thing I did that I think is important is run dedicated wire from my battery to a seperate fuse block, then out to my LSS and units. Lots of guys recommend this, and I think they are right. No interference from my trolling motor, main engine or stereo system. Mounted the LSS transducer on the bottom of the jack plate. You want to be sure the outboard doesn't block the signal.

I read a ton of info, then put a plan together specific to my boat, and it seemed to work well.

Any questions, PM me and I will try to help.

Thanks, Eric
_________________________
Eric
1998 Cobra DC 201
225 Merc


Top
#11065839 - 08/26/15 06:15 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
RangerBass21 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/09/15
Posts: 2210
Loc: Plano
No jack plate, but it does have a step up you can put it under
_________________________
bannana2

Top
#11065891 - 08/26/15 06:37 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: bladeslinger]
woolyhogtail Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 282
Originally Posted By: bladeslinger
Place the box in your rod locker in front of dash if possible that way you can keep it locked up.You will need a switch on the power to the box ,when you turn off your graph the box will still be hot and drain your battery when not in use.You can see sonar without turning on the sidescan box and flip the switch when you are using scan mode.Dont forget to turn it off when you store your boat.
do you need a switch on the gen 2 models also?

Top
#11066015 - 08/26/15 07:29 PM Re: Lowrance hds 8 gen 1 [Re: RangerBass21]
DFW-fisherman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/01/11
Posts: 1227
Loc: DFW
Originally Posted By: RangerBass21
No jack plate, but it does have a step up you can put it under


Hey guy - you have a Ranger right? I can share what I did on mine if you are interested. PM me for details.

Absolutely must have a switched signal to the LSS unit.

It's a nice unit. I would recommend adding the Point1. This will greatly improve update speed.

Good luck.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide