Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Midland RV & Boat Storage, GoHappy Fishing, Griffs, Rob Campbell, Thomas101
102715 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82862
hopalong 74389
Pilothawk 73427
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59877
Tritonman 56823
Derek 56401
SkeeterRonnie 52453
LoneStarSon® 52221
facebook
Forum Stats
102715 Members
61 Forums
858978 Topics
11268460 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11064429 - 08/26/15 07:39 AM HDS 7 gen 1
ridinonthepad Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/18/15
Posts: 92
Loc: Lake Texoma
I hope this doesnt get double posted. Submitted it earlier and it never got posted. I bought a used hds 7 gen 1 and it has been a nice upgrade from my hdi unit which is now living on the bow. I dont know the full capability of the unit yet but one thing bugs me about it. The chart does not follow me and I am constantly having to scroll to see my exact position. Does the unit have capability to be a moving map or do I just keep on scrolling to move the chart as I move down the lake?

Top
#11064741 - 08/26/15 09:32 AM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
Dayne Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2872
You need to go into your menu and set the chart to course UP.

Top
#11064871 - 08/26/15 10:22 AM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
Rob Jasper Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/06/05
Posts: 505
Loc: Arlington, TX
When you manually go to a position on the map page, you have to Clear Curser to 'automatically' go back to your current position.
If you can't figure it out, call me when you are in front of the unit.

Rob - 817-319-1194
_________________________
Rob Jasper

Top
#11065269 - 08/26/15 01:18 PM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: Rob Jasper]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 295
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Rob Jasper
When you manually go to a position on the map page, you have to Clear Curser to 'automatically' go back to your current position.
If you can't figure it out, call me when you are in front of the unit.

Rob - 817-319-1194


I think Rob probably nailed it. If you have a set of crossbars on your map screen you need to press the exit button to clear them and then it should display your current location.

Top
#11065618 - 08/26/15 04:09 PM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
ridinonthepad Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/18/15
Posts: 92
Loc: Lake Texoma
Okay thanks guys. I will try that this weekend. It has been distracting running down the lake and continuously scrolling to stay on the display. Thanks Rob for the offer. I am sure this unit has a lot moe capability than I have discovered so far. Another issue I have is getting the chart running on the lake I am fishing. I.e. I went to Degray in Arkansas last week to fish for hybrids. When I got in the water tge chart was still on Texoma. I zoomed out abd moved the cursor until I found Degray abd then all is well. I had to be doing something wrong.

Top
#11065629 - 08/26/15 04:14 PM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
ridinonthepad Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/18/15
Posts: 92
Loc: Lake Texoma
Thanks Dayne. I think I have the chart set to North.

Top
#11066820 - 08/27/15 08:59 AM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 295
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: ridinonthepad
Okay thanks guys. I will try that this weekend. It has been distracting running down the lake and continuously scrolling to stay on the display. Thanks Rob for the offer. I am sure this unit has a lot moe capability than I have discovered so far. Another issue I have is getting the chart running on the lake I am fishing. I.e. I went to Degray in Arkansas last week to fish for hybrids. When I got in the water tge chart was still on Texoma. I zoomed out abd moved the cursor until I found Degray abd then all is well. I had to be doing something wrong.


Pressing the exit key while on the chart page should resolve this issue as well. If the cursor is displayed on the chart then the chart will remain at that location. As long as the GPS signal is locked on, then pressing the exit key should allow the chart to follow your current location. You can check the status of your GPS signal by selecting "Satellites" under the "System" menu. If your unit did not come with the users manual then it can be downloaded from the Lowrance web site. It is full of useful information for operating your unit.

Top
#11068030 - 08/27/15 06:37 PM Re: HDS 7 gen 1 [Re: ridinonthepad]
ridinonthepad Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/18/15
Posts: 92
Loc: Lake Texoma
More good advice MAK. Thank you. I will eventually figure it out. I went to Lake Degray in Arkansas hybrid fishing last week and it is heavily populated with islands and I was able to navigate the lake in pitch dark.it may be a gen 1,and it wont talk to my i5 but it is a far cry from the Lowrance flasher I had on my Ranger 25 years ago. I am still a technology deprived idiot but I am learning this stuff. I can read the manual but I need hands on to learn it.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide