Print Thread
What primer and paint is good for an aluminum boat? #11063191 08/25/15 08:00 PM
C
Captain Cook Offline OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Offline
TFF Team Angler
C
I am wanting to clean this thing up and make it look decent. I only paid $100 for the boat and 8hp gas motor. The boat is 15.6 feet and 5ft wide. It is sound little boat but needs a little tlc. I'm going to carpet the inside, add a few LED lights, storage up front, fishfinder and trolling motor. Just wanted to see what's the best way to primer and paint it. Thanks in advance.

Captain Cook
Re: What primer and paint is good for an aluminum boat? [Re: Captain Cook] #11064039 08/26/15 02:44 AM
P
psycho0819 Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
P
The fun part is gonna be getting it down to metal.

I'm no expert by a long shot, but if I had to take a shot at it I'd think some self etching primer would be good to start out with. Duplicolor has it spray cans, usually available at auto parts stores. Then if I had to make a choice on paint, I'd look at some type of industrial or implement paint. Tractor supply has implement/equipment paint in limited colors. Rustoleum makes a few different lines of industrial paints in a wide range of colors, some for straight to metal app's. Grainger has a good selection of them.

If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space!
Re: What primer and paint is good for an aluminum boat? [Re: Captain Cook] #11064121 08/26/15 03:12 AM
A
Anchorman Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
A
I would follow these steps.

Use paint stripper to get as much paint off as possible. A good paint stripper will bubble and soften it up real good and make that old pain easier to remove. Then sand it down to the metal. Hopefully you have a nice power tool with a sanding disc, surface conditioning pads, etc. This will also etch the metal. Then use a good self etching primer. After you primer it your ready to paint it how you want it. Use a good high solid paint.