Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
DonMega, Chandler Oster, Ricky1977, txaquaguy, jb62
104451 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84494
hopalong 76587
Pilothawk 74348
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62508
FattyMcButterpants 60659
Tritonman 57363
Derek 57336
SkeeterRonnie 52787
LoneStarSon® 52658
facebook
Forum Stats
104451 Members
60 Forums
837058 Topics
11950090 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11054749 - 08/20/15 11:32 PM Ok...I am an idiot!!
Roll Tide Ranger Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/08/07
Posts: 386
Loc: Krum, TX.
I have an '03 Ranger Comanche and filling the livewells is dealing me the blues. I do not have a fill label on my 3 position switch...it reads recirc, auto, and empty. Since I know what two of those are for I am assuming to fill the wells it will have to be in auto? When I turn pumps on though it only fills about 6 inches of water...Either I am doing something wrong or I have some issue not letting it fill. Any elp would be greatly appreciated!!

Top
#11054836 - 08/21/15 06:34 AM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
Bob Landry Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/10/11
Posts: 2382
Loc: Austin, Tx
Does the well have a float switch?
_________________________
2015 Seaark 1872 MV CC Etec-90
Two Helix 12 CHIRP SI's, , MinnKota Riptide ST80/i-pilot Link, Bob's Hydraulic

Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel

Top
#11054853 - 08/21/15 06:48 AM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
Roll Tide Ranger Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/08/07
Posts: 386
Loc: Krum, TX.
Well I'm not sure. It has a flow rite live well system so if it has one I have no idea where it would be

Top
#11055083 - 08/21/15 08:55 AM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 5780
Loc: Boerne, Texas
So you put it on auto and it fills only 6"? Does it turn off then or what, doesn't make sense.

Top
#11055227 - 08/21/15 09:55 AM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
Roll Tide Ranger Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/08/07
Posts: 386
Loc: Krum, TX.
Yes it will shut off and cycle but I assume that is because of the timer and not because it is full. From what I can find in researching it this particular system has an overflow built in and while the three position switch is in auto it should never turn off. It should just keep pulling in new water and excess flows out of the overflow.

Top
#11055745 - 08/21/15 01:55 PM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
MAK747 Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/08/09
Posts: 335
Loc: Ft Wth
Originally Posted By: Roll Tide Ranger
I have an '03 Ranger Comanche and filling the livewells is dealing me the blues. I do not have a fill label on my 3 position switch...it reads recirc, auto, and empty. Since I know what two of those are for I am assuming to fill the wells it will have to be in auto? When I turn pumps on though it only fills about 6 inches of water...Either I am doing something wrong or I have some issue not letting it fill. Any elp would be greatly appreciated!!


Do you possibly have a Flow-Rite pump out aerator similar to this? If so it needs to be pushed in otherwise it will be in the pump out position. Since you said that it fills only about 6 inches it doesn't sound like the pump is filling it at all. The drain is open and it is just filling to the hulls water level depth.



Other things to check
1) Clogged inlet
2) Pump being unable to draw in water due to losing prime or possibly split hose
3) Bad livewell pump or pump cartridge.

Top
#11055755 - 08/21/15 02:02 PM Re: Ok...I am an idiot!! [Re: Roll Tide Ranger]
Roll Tide Ranger Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/08/07
Posts: 386
Loc: Krum, TX.
Yes that is the system I have. I just found out about the push in/pull out sprayer. I checked and mine was in the pump out position so I pushed it in and will test it the next time I put it in the water. I do know the second pump is running because I can feel it so I am not sure why there wouldn't have been water pumping out the back of the boat. Maybe the nozzle wasn't all the way pulled out???

If this doesn't work I will check for clogged plumbing. Thanks for the info

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide