Page 1 of 2 1 2
am I the only one? and is this normal? #11053273 08/20/15 04:09 PM
M
mad_catter1990 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
M
Well I am a disabled veteran with severe PTSD and I have also been diagnosed with severe bipolar depression and anxiety I am on a cocktail of mental health medications everyday to help me function. But as a child I always loved fishing. Fart I really started getting into it about 4 years ago after I return from Afghanistan and since then it has caused multiple problems with my relationships cluding my current marriage as well as other areas of my life I I am not clear to work or allowed to work due to my condition which allows me to fish sometime as much as 7 days in a row for over 6 to 8 hours or more each day without even catching any fish. I'm beginning to wonder if my fishing has become an unhealthy obsession and addiction method that I use to escape my reality as well as escape my problems and pain I feel on a daily basis. Both physical and mental pain. almost like when people use drugs to get away from their problem and pain. And it's really starting to concern me because I'm at a point in my life where I'm starting to realize the important things in life but I can't seem to stop going fishing no matter what even though it causes all these negative fat in my life I'm still unable to go fishing in moderation instead of compulsively. I was just wondering if I'm the only one that is had this problem or if anybody else has seen somebody with this problem and if maybe there's something that I could do to try to fix the problem without having to completely stop fishing. Because at this rate if I keep doing what I'm doing I'm going to lose the most important woman in my life my wife and I really do not and cannot live without her so any input or suggestions or advice is extremely appreciated but please don't judge me thank you

Last edited by mad_catter1990; 08/20/15 04:14 PM.

PB flathead- 72#
PB Blue cat- 56#