Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Gary Roberts, Granbry, Gman.1218, Gkirk842, William Garcia
102693 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82831
hopalong 74334
Pilothawk 73389
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59850
Tritonman 56789
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52444
LoneStarSon® 52199
facebook
Forum Stats
102693 Members
61 Forums
858483 Topics
11261970 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11045726 - 08/16/15 05:07 PM Bad transducer?
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
I have a elite 7 hdi mounted on the console. After I have run somewhere, the graph never picks up the bottom again. Just keeps saying 1.5ft-3ft etc. I have tried switching the range but no help. Is the transducer bad or could it be a wiring issue?
_________________________

Top
#11045923 - 08/16/15 07:10 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Dayne Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 2872
It may be a transducer installation issue.

Top
#11046013 - 08/16/15 07:50 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
See it works fine but once I get on plane and lose bottom it never finds it again even if I'm sitting still
_________________________

Top
#11046201 - 08/16/15 09:08 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Rayzor Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 05/13/08
Posts: 4378
Loc: Magnolia, Texas
Is it a Humminbird? If so, welcome to the club. I have had my boat for five years. Right after I got it, I bought an 898C SI combo. I have basically had to switch out the thru-hull puck every year. It simply stops reading the depth. It does the same thing yours is. The puck is not that expensive bit on my boat it is a major operation to switch out. In order to get to the bilge, I have to remove three trolling motor batteries, the starter battery, a 3-bank charger, a single bank charger, and the metal flooring. Then I have to route the new puck's cables to the console. After all that, I have to lout it all back. This usually takes me about 6 hours.

What is so aggravating is that there is no reason for it to go out. There is no damage. It just stops working.

Good luck.
_________________________
Be safe,
Rayzor

2001 Triton Tx-21/225 Mercury EFI

Top
#11046222 - 08/16/15 09:20 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
Mine is lowrance but luckily it's a simple installation. I just wanted to make sure it's the transducer and not the location or wiring
_________________________

Top
#11046283 - 08/16/15 09:57 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
WillieKetchum Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/11/15
Posts: 547
Loc: Huntsville, TX
Just a shot in the dark, but it's worth a try.

Go into your setup menu and see what transducer you have selected. You might play around with a couple different options if you don't know which one you have. Try looking on the cable hooked to the back of your graph that goes to the transducer. It might still have the silver foil looking tab on it that says what kind of transducer it is.

Top
#11046287 - 08/16/15 09:59 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
It's the 50/200hz hdi transducer. Tried that. Lol tried either frequency and the other settings
_________________________

Top
#11046307 - 08/16/15 10:14 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
FMJshooter Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 1390
Loc: Belton, TX
Maybe check which software you have and do an update if available. I had a gen1 or early gen 2 HDS7 that would do that every once in a while, update seemed to have fixed it if I recall correctly.


Edited by FMJshooter (08/16/15 10:14 PM)

Top
#11046317 - 08/16/15 10:25 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
Tried that as well. It's a fairly new unit less than 6 months old
_________________________

Top
#11046346 - 08/16/15 11:12 PM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Capt Jerry Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/22/13
Posts: 241
Loc: Cedar Creek Lake
If it a "shoot through the hull" transducer, you may want to put some water in the bilge to see if it works. This may help determine if the issue is the transducer installation (not thoroughly epoxied in place).

If it is a HDI unit, I am thinking you cannot shoot through the hull with the down image (if it has it).

Top
#11046401 - 08/17/15 01:18 AM Re: Bad transducer? [Re: Aggie34]
Aggie34 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/01/15
Posts: 175
Loc: Glen Rose
It's mounted externally. Lowrance said you can do an in hull with an hdi but you will lose 15-40% of you clarity
_________________________

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide