Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Lilleyj7, D.RODGERS, mikyfran, SaltwaterGospel, Nicholas Moudy
102741 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82901
hopalong 74411
Pilothawk 73456
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59942
Tritonman 56844
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52467
LoneStarSon® 52229
facebook
Forum Stats
102741 Members
61 Forums
859433 Topics
11275231 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11038352 - 08/12/15 07:53 PM Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998
JkWho Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/15
Posts: 308
Loc: Mid Cities
My 1198 and 998 are networked together but my 1198 is all over the map when it comes to depth.I have disconnected them from each other to make sure that isnt the issue, no change. My transducer is connected to my Terrova, cable run through the middle of the shaft then run down the coiled cables on the trolling motor. I have updated the 1198 and the 998 to current firmware, the power cable is the new one with the interrupter, I also have the choking ring from Humminbird...Im just not sure what else to do, so Im looking for some help.

Top
#11038535 - 08/12/15 09:12 PM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
Doug R. Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/11/12
Posts: 8089
Loc: Cowboy Nation
Do you have the built in US2 transducer?

I had terrible interference between my 998c on the bow and my Fortrex with US2. I tried every trick both Min Kota and Humminbird suggested to no avail.

I finally bought a $75 external 2D transducer and it hasn't lost depth or had any interference in 6 months. I recently replaced my Fortrex with a new one and order the non US2 model...
_________________________

Top
#11038816 - 08/12/15 10:43 PM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
JkWho Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/15
Posts: 308
Loc: Mid Cities
I have the US2 but Im not using it...I have my Humminbird transducer on installed on the trolling motor.

Top
#11039261 - 08/13/15 09:07 AM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
JkWho Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/15
Posts: 308
Loc: Mid Cities
Ok so I did a bit of homework on the wiring since I think it where my problem is stemming from...When I replaced the HB on the bow with the 1198 I used the current wiring from the 798. Come to find the power is not wired directly to the battery but seems to be wired into the wiring loom inside the boat. I will be wiring directly to the battery to see if this helps. I know the TM wiring and the HB wiring is on opposite sides of the boat but there are areas where they are next to each other, is this an issue? I have the power wires coming from the TM and the transducer wiring next to each other for about a foot or two until it goes into the interior of the boat...Im not sure how to change this though.

What else should I look for wiring wise??

Top
#11039357 - 08/13/15 09:48 AM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
squib Online   content
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/03/03
Posts: 995
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Grounding the unit to the trolling motor also makes all the difference sometimes.

To do this, run a wire down the shaft of your trolling motor just as you would the transducer wire. Then connect the wire to the trolling motor skeg as best you can. Sometimes there is a bolt there; if not, drill a small hole through the skeg and use a small bolt and nut and a wire connecter there. Make sure the wire connector or the wire itself is making contact to the metal of the skeg. You may have to scratch off a little paint. Use a continuity tester to make sure that you are grounded. Now make sure you have leads directly from the non-trolling motor batter all the way to the front of the boat. Don't tie into the dash, the front panel or any other unit. Two wires from the battery directly to the front graph. Be sure to insert a fuse near the battery. Wire the hot wire from the battery directly to the positive on the unit. Then tie all the grounds together--the ground from the battery, the ground from the battery and the new ground from the skeg.

This will eliminate interference always*.

*Disclaimer--this works 90% of the time always.

Top
#11039412 - 08/13/15 10:11 AM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
JkWho Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/15
Posts: 308
Loc: Mid Cities
Is this recommended even though the Terrova has an internal ground already built in??

Top
#11039469 - 08/13/15 10:41 AM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: squib]
Doug R. Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/11/12
Posts: 8089
Loc: Cowboy Nation
Originally Posted By: squib
Grounding the unit to the trolling motor also makes all the difference sometimes.

To do this, run a wire down the shaft of your trolling motor just as you would the transducer wire. Then connect the wire to the trolling motor skeg as best you can. Sometimes there is a bolt there; if not, drill a small hole through the skeg and use a small bolt and nut and a wire connecter there. Make sure the wire connector or the wire itself is making contact to the metal of the skeg. You may have to scratch off a little paint. Use a continuity tester to make sure that you are grounded. Now make sure you have leads directly from the non-trolling motor batter all the way to the front of the boat. Don't tie into the dash, the front panel or any other unit. Two wires from the battery directly to the front graph. Be sure to insert a fuse near the battery. Wire the hot wire from the battery directly to the positive on the unit. Then tie all the grounds together--the ground from the battery, the ground from the battery and the new ground from the skeg.

This will eliminate interference always*.

*Disclaimer--this works 90% of the time always.



That's one of the solutions I tried with mine and it actually made it better, but still had some interference.

I would think its possibly associated with the transducer wire and the power both being in close peroximity inside the shaft
_________________________

Top
#11044520 - 08/15/15 09:52 PM Re: Losing depth on bow 1198...Fine on Console 998 [Re: JkWho]
JkWho Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/27/15
Posts: 308
Loc: Mid Cities
Alright so I got the boat out on the water today...Since they are networked I went ahead and just switched the transducer reading from the bow to the console. The depth came right up as correct. After all I have done and the transducer is still reading incorrectly Im guessing its bad.

Anyone have anything else they could recommend??

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide