Print Thread
Fishing with Puppies #11018685 08/04/15 12:11 PM
L
Lloyd5 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
L
It's been my fortune and misfortune to have fished with three puppies in my time. It is a contradictory experience. For example...

Saturday I grabbed the fly rod and waded off into the river. Along with me came our big old black mostly Lab, my neighbors big old mostly Ridge Back, and my neighbors 12 week old hunting dog, what I call a Black and Tan but I'm not a dog expert. A coon dog basically. At this point his paws and his head look like a grown up dogs but the rest of his body is small. Clumsy, friendly and cute as hell - but a pain in the neck because he likes to get between your feet while you are trying to walk.

They wait to see if I'm going up or down river, see that I'm going down river and take off ahead of me. The two older dogs know where I'm headed and the puppy goes with them. When I get to the Guinea Hole I'm amazed at how much it has changed since the flooding. All the mud and vegetation is gone, it's a gravel and rock bottom and clean as a whistle. It's the same depth, the same width and the same length, just cleaner.

On my second cast I have a big blue gill on and the puppy swims out to me - I'm in waist deep - and proceeds to try to climb up me like a monkey on a tree. Immediately I have a puppy clawing at me that has gotten my stripped fly line wrapped all around his body and a fish on. I'm cussing and laughing at the same time. I'm equal parts ticked off and amused. It is a peculiar situation but a familiar one - I've been through this twice before with other dogs, one of which is the Lab.