Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Lilleyj7, D.RODGERS, mikyfran, SaltwaterGospel, Nicholas Moudy
102741 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82901
hopalong 74411
Pilothawk 73456
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59942
Tritonman 56844
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52467
LoneStarSon® 52229
facebook
Forum Stats
102741 Members
61 Forums
859436 Topics
11275263 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11010142 - 07/30/15 02:13 PM Crappie Condos
txfour Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/07/08
Posts: 8492
Loc: Jack County
I was thinking to build 3 or 4 and put into my lake.

Do you just find random spots at different depths to place them in the lake or is there a method you use? Put them along creek beds or rock piles or anything to have the best success?

Top
#11010257 - 07/30/15 03:08 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
bull squat Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 04/09/11
Posts: 1420
Loc: Merit Texas
Points, ledges creek bends, etc are good places to sink condos.


Paul
_________________________


Top
#11010845 - 07/30/15 07:54 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
crappiegetter Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/24/13
Posts: 845
Loc: Waco TX
lot of unanswered ?s like what time of year ya fishing . protected area's ? Depths ect ? hmmm
_________________________
www.thecrappieking.com & www.boneheadtackle.com/

Top
#11011402 - 07/31/15 07:55 AM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
kickingback Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 08/13/13
Posts: 815
Loc: Texas
You will need to do your homework first.

Are there any spots currently producing crappie? Are there structures nearby? Can you place one close to draw the crappie in and only you will know the location of the new pile close to the hot spot? IS the spot heavy boat traffic? Are there underwater ledges or rocks or other structure close by?
You need to know these answers to place it in a good spot.
I usually add to existing piles or get as close to another pile that I can but close to some other structure that the crappie will hold on close to your pile and move back and forth to it. This way others will fish the hot spot already established and you can fish your pile without anyone knowing you have one there.
I also try to find new locations that I think the crappie might be in another season like shallow for spawn.
You need to ask and answer and decide how YOU want to fish the piles.
_________________________
USAF Retired and Fishing!


Top
#11013920 - 08/01/15 03:02 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
Brocephus Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/31/13
Posts: 248
Loc: Plano, Texas
Question. how to best mark your spot? Obviously you can't put a buoy on it or else other people will find it and fish it. I don't have a super fancy depth finder or hand held GPS. Can I just "drop a pin" with my iphone and then try to relocate it based on that and also using my visual landmarks? I also have the Navi app on my iphone too.
_________________________
It is far easier to fool people than to convince them they have been fooled - Mark Twain


Top
#11014012 - 08/01/15 04:16 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
JimmyA Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/14/12
Posts: 844
Loc: new boston
If using pvc, the condo will not show, but the fish will! That's what I look for.
_________________________
Probing brush for crappie is my game!

Top
#11014026 - 08/01/15 04:27 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
Gamblinman Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/26/02
Posts: 2041
Loc: Yantis, TX
PVC won't show till the algae sets. Use your side imaging to find piles you set till you get a good GPS coordinate.

Gman
_________________________


Top
#11014184 - 08/01/15 06:41 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: Brocephus]
HooknSlabs35 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/09/12
Posts: 128
Loc: Burleson, TX
Originally Posted By: Brocephus
Question. how to best mark your spot? Obviously you can't put a buoy on it or else other people will find it and fish it. I don't have a super fancy depth finder or hand held GPS. Can I just "drop a pin" with my iphone and then try to relocate it based on that and also using my visual landmarks? I also have the Navi app on my iphone too.


My advice would be to mark the spot where you want to drop your BP's with a marker buoy. Once that is done, pull up next to your marker buoy with your trolling motor and drop your tree(s) right next to your marker. After the tree is sunk, use your navionics app on your phone and put a marker on the app where you dropped your tree. Should be able to find your BP every time. I also do not have GPS on my depth finder and rely on the navionics on my phone to find my BP's. I find them every time and I used this method.

Top
#11016865 - 08/03/15 12:09 PM Re: Crappie Condos [Re: txfour]
Brocephus Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 07/31/13
Posts: 248
Loc: Plano, Texas
Okay great info! Will it show up on everyone else's Navi app too or just mine?
_________________________
It is far easier to fool people than to convince them they have been fooled - Mark Twain


Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide