Main Menu
Newest Members
DRDawn, Dirk Parson, FEpic, Kroppie@Buchanan, Rwrshooter
107413 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88138
Pilothawk 76210
JDavis7873® 67390
John175® 66828
FattyMcButterpants 60846
Derek 🐝 59786
Tritonman 57924
LoneStarSon® 54256
SkeeterRonnie 53303
Mark Perry 51831
Forum Stats
107412 Members
60 Forums
854653 Topics
12192535 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#11000876 - 07/26/15 12:01 AM help...point1 antenna work on gen1 units
spinnerbait72 Offline

Registered: 05/25/14
Posts: 206
Loc: Ennis
Will the lowrance point1 work with hds gen 1 units, thanks on advance

#11000919 - 07/26/15 06:16 AM Re: help...point1 antenna work on gen1 units [Re: spinnerbait72]
Dayne Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/16/06
Posts: 3034
It's supposed to. I bought one and could never get it to calibrate so I returned it.

#11001346 - 07/26/15 12:10 PM Re: help...point1 antenna work on gen1 units [Re: spinnerbait72]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 2128
Loc: Plano, TX
Yes, it works. It makes a world of difference. I use it via a NEMA 2000 kit networked with an HDS 10 and HDS 8. Both are Gen 1. I've been told the internal GPS rate is 1 update per second, with Gen 1 using Point-1, it is 5 times/sec and Gen 2 and above it is 10 times.

All I can say is it is a definite improvement. In fact, when I first used it after calibration, I was getting off line at Fork boat lanes because I was so use to steering with the delay factor - don't have to anymore. It also helps to get spot on to wpts. I was able to calibrate mine using the TM (Terrova) - just had it go in circles. I haven't had to calibrate since.

It is important to mount Point-1 where it will not get electrical interference. Mine is on the transom area where the oil use to be filled. I mix oil manually on a TR 186. So the hole for the Point-1 was perfect. I just had to drill one extra screw hole.


© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide