Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Frustrating fishing out of a kayak #10991484 07/21/15 07:08 PM
bFROG5 Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Im new to kayak fishing and have fished out of boat a lot, so its very diff to me. I have predator 13 and its a nice yak but I find myself getting frustrated when fishing bc im constantly having to reposition my yak before i reel in especially if im fishing slow or throwing topwater.
Even when I stand up my yak feels shakey like its going to tip, so ive lost a couple bc of not setting the hook like I usually would. I dont want a trolling motor and unless im in a extremely calm creek my yak is taking me away from where I want to be.
Do yall have any advice or is this just the nature of the game?

Matthew 4:19
Re: Frustrating fishing out of a kayak [Re: bFROG5] #10991600 07/21/15 07:41 PM
C
christian myrick Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
C
Try a drift sock and an anchor trolley. That will slow you down and also allow you to position your yak a little better. Just a thought...I dont fish for bass but its how I follow a creek bed or any other structure.

Re: Frustrating fishing out of a kayak [Re: bFROG5] #10991627 07/21/15 07:52 PM
Jimbo Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
It takes a little time for you to adapt to the kayak. It's night and day compared to a boat, but I can tell you I've fished from a boat all my life and the kayak is the most enjoyable type of fishing I've ever done.
As mentioned above the anchor trolley is a kayakers best friend. The wind is a kayakers worst enemy. They kayak you have sits high in the water and will naturally catch more wind than some of the others but like I said, you just need to get used to it and learn what you can and can't do.
Relax and give it a chance, and you will find it a lot more rewarding than fishing from that boat.

Just one more cast!

Re: Frustrating fishing out of a kayak [Re: bFROG5] #10991636 07/21/15 07:55 PM
S
stewage Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
S