Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cooperguy, GT411TX, Cobra_Man_73, bigriver, Earvin
106368 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 86925
hopalong 78792
Pilothawk 75577
JDavis7873® 67385
John175 ® 65731
FattyMcButterpants 60793
Derek 🐝 58863
Tritonman 57721
LoneStarSon® 53708
SkeeterRonnie 53103
facebook
Forum Stats
106368 Members
61 Forums
861989 Topics
12251540 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10985969 - 07/18/15 08:46 PM Lowrance hds set up help
Grangerland Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/02/14
Posts: 50
Loc: Lake Conroe
I have a Gen 1 hds 10 with structure scan at the console and a hds 5 it the bow. I recently just purchased a gen 3 hds 12 and wanted to move the 10 up front and replace it with the 12. My questions are does this make the 5 obsolete? What transducer do I need up front to have downscan on the 10? The 5 just has 2d and map. For way point marking way points up front on the 10 do I need another gps puck? From my understanding side scan is not that effective up front without maintaing speed. Thanks I appreaciate any help and advice, I am kind of lost here!
_________________________
2008 Ranger Z21

Top
#10985977 - 07/18/15 08:53 PM Re: Lowrance hds set up help [Re: Grangerland]
David Burton Online   confused
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 1962
Loc: McKinney, TX
You can network Gen 2/3 and Gen 1 units. However, you cannot share Maps. You can share transducers and waypoints. The 5 can be used for single screen SONAR if you want, but it will be substantially slower. The Same transducers work for all units. You should update the transducer for Structure Scan to the newer version, though.

Hope this helps as a starting point.
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017

Top
#10986216 - 07/19/15 12:02 AM Re: Lowrance hds set up help [Re: Grangerland]
90 5.0 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/13/10
Posts: 2020
Loc: Atascocita,Tx
It's not obsolete, but won't share a map card like gen 2 units wil, other than that it's just a little slower.

You can keep the five at the bow, and run it next to the ten networked or put it in the dash and runit with the 12, up to yu where you want more screens.

Do you have an lss-1 or 2 box currently? If so you can use it for the 10 up front and just get anther lss 2 for the rear, many don't like side on the troller, but some do, but it will give you down on the troller that way.

lots of options

Top
#10987143 - 07/19/15 03:59 PM Re: Lowrance hds set up help [Re: Grangerland]
Grangerland Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/02/14
Posts: 50
Loc: Lake Conroe
Thanks yall
_________________________
2008 Ranger Z21

Top
#10987145 - 07/19/15 04:01 PM Re: Lowrance hds set up help [Re: Grangerland]
Grangerland Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/02/14
Posts: 50
Loc: Lake Conroe
Ls1 box, I was told that you need to be at 5-7 mph for side scan to be useful
_________________________
2008 Ranger Z21

Top
#10988374 - 07/20/15 09:25 AM Re: Lowrance hds set up help [Re: Grangerland]
David Burton Online   confused
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/14/11
Posts: 1962
Loc: McKinney, TX
With your gen3, the box is no longer necessary. Take it out and sell it.
_________________________
David Burton
2015 Skeeter FX 21

...and down goes PhotoBucket with the new Terms of Service... I predict they will be out of business or begging for forgiveness inside a month. 6/30/2017

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide