Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Robere, Eldorado, SteveWC, Tickle, Stephen Brocious
107985 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 88590
hopalong 78895
Pilothawk 76386
John175® 67548
JDavis7873® 67390
FattyMcButterpants 60868
Derek 🐝 60239
Tritonman 57988
LoneStarSon® 54394
SkeeterRonnie 53365
facebook
Forum Stats
107985 Members
60 Forums
860813 Topics
12269217 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10983868 - 07/17/15 03:42 PM Question for you guys that use a GoPro--
steveiam Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/19/09
Posts: 7750
Loc: Red Oak, Tx. (North Texas)
I know I've seen a few of you guys mention you have a gopro mounted to your boat--
I have for a long time thought I wanted one to do the same--
Last week we bought a new car and I was given a GoPro Hero 4 silver as a perk--

I feel like a dog that caught a car and don't know what to do with it now-

Do you use it much really, or was it cool for a while and now not so much?

I have had it about a week now and am thinking of putting it in the for sale section to trade for a Kayak or canoe or something I would get more use of.

Input?
_________________________
This space currently held Hostage by photobucket-

Top
#10983883 - 07/17/15 03:51 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
TRH (formerly xpress00) Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/19/08
Posts: 1257
Loc: Red Oak, TX
Just put it in my mailbox and I'll figure it out for you while it's mounted on mine!!!!
_________________________
www.mtpocketstackle.com

Top
#10983912 - 07/17/15 04:03 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: TRH (formerly xpress00)]
steveiam Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/19/09
Posts: 7750
Loc: Red Oak, Tx. (North Texas)
Originally Posted By: TRH (formerly xpress00)
Just put it in my mailbox and I'll figure it out for you while it's mounted on mine!!!!

Hmmmmmm-
_________________________
This space currently held Hostage by photobucket-

Top
#10983919 - 07/17/15 04:05 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
steveiam Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/19/09
Posts: 7750
Loc: Red Oak, Tx. (North Texas)
Originally Posted By: steveiam
Originally Posted By: TRH (formerly xpress00)
Just put it in my mailbox and I'll figure it out for you while it's mounted on mine!!!!

Hmmmmmm-

Got an extra Kayak?
You could get some Great shots of Kasen!


Edited by steveiam (07/17/15 04:05 PM)
_________________________
This space currently held Hostage by photobucket-

Top
#10983929 - 07/17/15 04:09 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
TRH (formerly xpress00) Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/19/08
Posts: 1257
Loc: Red Oak, TX
nah man... Got rid of Yak to buy a few performance parts for the stang. Yeah, it would sure beat using my cell phone to video him out on the boat. Just never came around to getting one.
I know Vess uses his on a head band I think...unless that was the go pro that took a plunge with his drone.
_________________________
www.mtpocketstackle.com

Top
#10983958 - 07/17/15 04:29 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
Vess Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/04/13
Posts: 1904
Loc: Haslet, TX
Where did you buy a car at that has a perk like that? And how much do you want for the go pro? Can't never have too many go pros..
_________________________
PB
60# 3/11/2015
Last PB Blue Cat 53# 12/20/2014
Flat Head, 56# Rod and reel
Channel Cat 12#
SHUT UP AND FISH!!




Top
#10984003 - 07/17/15 04:49 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
mjmetro0719 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 3966
Loc: saginaw,tx
I use the go pro and I have two of them on my boat, once you figure out the settings, downloading and editing it is pretty cool, it takes a little time to understand it all but for me it's a nice little hobby to capture some good moments and go back and revisit them in your file or to make a vid. I think you will really enjoy it when you start catching those wintertime blues. The go pro that you have also has a wifi button and you can download the app to use your phone as an app and see what shot your getting as well as change up settings and record by the touch of your phone (newer version phones such as the iPhone). I'm no pro with them but I like the go pro.
_________________________

Mike

Top
#10984066 - 07/17/15 05:47 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: Vess]
steveiam Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 09/19/09
Posts: 7750
Loc: Red Oak, Tx. (North Texas)
Originally Posted By: Vess
Where did you buy a car at that has a perk like that? And how much do you want for the go pro? Can't never have too many go pros..

Moritz Chevrolet -a guy named Monte Coon is the sales manager there and this was the most pleasant buying experience I have had-monte has been on the TFF for several years and if you do a
Search of his Name on here and see a ton of guys that have wrote good Things about buying there-
Got a new Tahoe and got the go pro after the deal was made-wasn't expecting it-

Just not sure I wanna mess With it now that I have one-
Not sure Vess-probably see if a trade appeals to anybody-
But I'll pm ya if I go that route-
_________________________
This space currently held Hostage by photobucket-

Top
#10984079 - 07/17/15 05:59 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: TRH (formerly xpress00)]
Vess Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/04/13
Posts: 1904
Loc: Haslet, TX
Originally Posted By: TRH (formerly xpress00)
nah man... Got rid of Yak to buy a few performance parts for the stang. Yeah, it would sure beat using my cell phone to video him out on the boat. Just never came around to getting one.
I know Vess uses his on a head band I think...unless that was the go pro that took a plunge with his drone.


yes it went down with my drone.... new drone ordered that has its own camera, and i will be buying 3 more go pros.... i work my tail off so toys are a must lol. wife wants a new house, we both are do for new or newer vehicles. i see a duramax in my near future with a new tri toon with something 200 or better pushing it. one go pro for work 1 or 2 for fishing. OT hound right now.... plus its too damn hot to fish so gettin money is what imma doin!
_________________________
PB
60# 3/11/2015
Last PB Blue Cat 53# 12/20/2014
Flat Head, 56# Rod and reel
Channel Cat 12#
SHUT UP AND FISH!!




Top
#10984117 - 07/17/15 06:17 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
TRH (formerly xpress00) Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/19/08
Posts: 1257
Loc: Red Oak, TX
Duramax and tri toon ya say huh??.. good choices.
_________________________
www.mtpocketstackle.com

Top
#10986225 - 07/19/15 12:10 AM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
GetSlimed Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/05/14
Posts: 499
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
They're definitely a cool toy! Like Mike said it takes a while to figure it out and the iPhone app makes it way easier. You'll need some extra batteries, mine (Hero 3) will last about 3hrs when using the wifi.

First time I looked back at one of the videos I was shocked to see how many bites I missed, but that's easy to do when fishing by yourself and using 8-10 rods.

I'm with Vess, I work hard and like to buy toys. I'll probably buy a couple more soon to capture more angles on the boat.
_________________________
PB Blue Cat 67lbs - Twok
2013 Blue Wave 2200 Pure Bay Yamaha 250

Top
#10986661 - 07/19/15 10:42 AM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: Vess]
BrianTx01 Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/13/09
Posts: 5837
Loc: Fort Worth
Originally Posted By: Vess
Where did you buy a car at that has a perk like that? And how much do you want for the go pro? Can't never have too many go pros..


I believe the economic expression is "there's no such thing as a free lunch".
_________________________
Fighting Texas Aggie Class of 2001
Proud UNT Alumni

Top
#10988147 - 07/20/15 07:36 AM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
OPTIMUS PRIME Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/20/10
Posts: 2296
Loc: CYBERTRON
Did yall say overtime? Lol! coffee
_________________________
3 Lake Records / 2 All Tackle and counting... texas And he said unto them... Just go as far as you can see; when you get there, you’ll be able to see farther... Lol!!!

Top
#10991273 - 07/21/15 12:40 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: GetSlimed]
mjmetro0719 Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 10/25/02
Posts: 3966
Loc: saginaw,tx
Originally Posted By: GetSlimed
They're definitely a cool toy! Like Mike said it takes a while to figure it out and the iPhone app makes it way easier. You'll need some extra batteries, mine (Hero 3) will last about 3hrs when using the wifi.

First time I looked back at one of the videos I was shocked to see how many bites I missed, but that's easy to do when fishing by yourself and using 8-10 rods.

I'm with Vess, I work hard and like to buy toys. I'll probably buy a couple more soon to capture more angles on the boat.


Your exactly right on how many bites get missed that was never seen, and I have had some big takedowns that I never saw cause I was fooling around with my depth finder or counting the birds in the sky. I have one video where I was drifting with six rods and as I battled a nice fish four other rods started to bend and shake with fish on and I never knew it until I reviewed the footage.
_________________________

Mike

Top
#10996544 - 07/23/15 03:20 PM Re: Question for you guys that use a GoPro-- [Re: steveiam]
TexasForever Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/24/12
Posts: 111
Loc: Dallas, Tx
Definitely worth it. Mount it to the windshield on your boat

Top



© 1998-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide