Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
2013Jeepwrangler, HumblePie, JBO COOPER, Eric Porterfield, TONY INTERRANTE
105704 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85885
hopalong 78097
Pilothawk 75020
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 64750
FattyMcButterpants 60790
Derek 🐝 58235
Tritonman 57548
LoneStarSon® 53227
SkeeterRonnie 52973
facebook
Forum Stats
105704 Members
60 Forums
851319 Topics
12128118 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10971268 - 07/11/15 10:54 PM New kayak and graph question
TreeBass Offline
Lt. Dan

Registered: 06/19/06
Posts: 44820
Loc: Central Texas
Ok, just picked up a heritage since I can't launch the boat. Also picked up a low range Mark 4. So the question is, scupper mount or over the side mount for the xducer?



_________________________


My success in life is measured by the number of hunting
and fishing stories that my kids can share with others


http://www.sure-life.com
http://www.proanglertackle.com
http://www.grizzlycoolers.com
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#10973105 - 07/13/15 05:26 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
stanh Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/14/12
Posts: 32
Loc: Richland Hills, TX
In my opinion, 'through the supper' is a much better way. I have experience with both methods. Going through the scupper hole relieves a huge amount of frustration while fishing.

Top
#10973120 - 07/13/15 05:54 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
YAKaddict Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 524
Loc: Plano
Glue it to the inside of the hull. I did and I don't have to deal with any wires or drag. Only downside is It will throw off the water temp. I will not use any other method after trying in hull!

Top
#10973213 - 07/13/15 07:33 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
Jim Ford Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1372
Loc: Texas
If having wires in the cockpit and the arm hanging over the gunwale don't bother you then that would be the easier method. If you don't want to be snagging wires or the arm, Goop the transducer inside the hull. The temperature readings will be accurate once the hull had been immersed in the water for a while; mine's generally stabilized after 15 - 30 minutes, depending on the temperature difference between the air and the surface. Many people use both methods and are happy with them.

Top
#10973260 - 07/13/15 07:57 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
Tallgrass05 Online   content
bill maher's protege

Registered: 03/02/05
Posts: 41681
Loc: Kansas
It'll be a matter of personal preference.

Top
#10973489 - 07/13/15 09:37 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: YAKaddict]
Rhino68W Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 6538
Loc: Benbrook, TX
Originally Posted By: YAKaddict
Glue it to the inside of the hull. I did and I don't have to deal with any wires or drag. Only downside is It will throw off the water temp. I will not use any other method after trying in hull!

X2
_________________________
Kayak Fishing Military Veterans

Top
#10974931 - 07/13/15 07:51 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
passinthru Online   content
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/11/14
Posts: 208
Loc: Sanger
X3

Top
#10975117 - 07/13/15 08:50 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
PayneFish Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/30/08
Posts: 6743
Loc: Temple, TX
If you need a hand with either method just holler!

Top
#10975234 - 07/13/15 09:40 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
AlexG Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 01/13/14
Posts: 53
i tried the scupper kit from bps and it totally sucked - piece of plastic junk. i ended up installing the transducer in the over sized scupper hole with great stuff expanding foam - worked great and only took a couple of minutes. installing on inside limits usability.

Top
#10975492 - 07/14/15 01:48 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
stewage Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/13/15
Posts: 140
Loc: Lake Dallas
Everything I've read says DownScan and SideScan will not work glued inside the hull.

If you didn't have a downscan unit I would vote for gluing it inside the hull, but as I've never actually tried it myself, who knows, it could work?

Also, with down scan having a wider beam, if you do mount it in a scupper hole, it needs to be below the bottom of the kayak, so it can angle out correctly. This is the reason with my down imaging unit I opted for an arm mount.

Top
#10977887 - 07/15/15 06:07 AM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
Cigga Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 285
Loc: Frisco, TX
I have the same exact graph. Works pretty good. I have it installed as shoot thru hull and I have no problems with my down scan imaging. Picture is clear and easy to tell what is under your yak. Just make sure there isnt any bubbles in the goop withn you glue the transducer to the hull.
_________________________

Top
#10980998 - 07/16/15 12:23 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
TreeBass Offline
Lt. Dan

Registered: 06/19/06
Posts: 44820
Loc: Central Texas
Thanks guys, and appreciate the offer Payne. I think I've got it figured out after spending the last 5 days on the lake.

I'm going to go with thru the hull, and build a platform for the graph, go pro, and rod holders using the existing Scotty rod mount.

Currently I have it mounted on the stern ( there are existing screws for a rudder mount) and I just flip it up out of the way when bringing it ashore. The xducer wire is run down the side, so it's not so bad as a temp setup.

I see I'm defiantly going to need an anchor for the kind of fishing I do. Any recommendations?
_________________________


My success in life is measured by the number of hunting
and fishing stories that my kids can share with others


http://www.sure-life.com
http://www.proanglertackle.com
http://www.grizzlycoolers.com
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#10981091 - 07/16/15 01:01 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
Tallgrass05 Online   content
bill maher's protege

Registered: 03/02/05
Posts: 41681
Loc: Kansas
I replaced my folding anchor with a Bruce claw anchor, it holds much better.

Top
#10981106 - 07/16/15 01:08 PM Re: New kayak and graph question [Re: TreeBass]
PayneFish Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/30/08
Posts: 6743
Loc: Temple, TX
I second the bruce claw with the zip tie setup

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide