Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tx Pitching, AaronJohnson24, TX Rigged Senko, Mxguy16, Lowell whisenant
103146 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83673
hopalong 74961
Pilothawk 73813
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 61030
FattyMcButterpants 60592
Tritonman 57170
Derek 56843
SkeeterRonnie 52571
LoneStarSon® 52410
facebook
Forum Stats
103146 Members
62 Forums
865354 Topics
11360089 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10956586 - 07/04/15 10:06 AM Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored]
Anchorman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/02/15
Posts: 1173
Loc: Small Town NE Texas
I've got a 2007 15hp 4 stroke Yamaha. It's been sitting pretty much since it was new. I recently gave the boat its on a make over. Last week I put a new impeller on it. I took it to the lake yesterday and couldn't get it to [censored] out of the indicator. I let it idle for a few minutes and watched what look like all the air purging out of it. There was a lot coming out between the where the lower unit bolts on to the main housing. Then all the air seemed to work itself out. But the indicator isn't peeing. It doesn't appear to run hot. When I first start it the red light comes on for about the first 2 secs then goes off as it should.

So I pulled it back apart this morning and everything looks completely normal. The impeller appears normal and the keeper on the shaft is in place. All appears to be in place and working. But no [censored] out the indicator.

Any ideas?
_________________________
If it ain't yours don't mess with it!
Need a friendly place to talk hunting? www.talkhunting.com


Top
#10957107 - 07/04/15 05:21 PM Re: Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored] [Re: Anchorman]
Allan W Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1166
Loc: EM Lake
Check the [censored] hose from the block to the cowling. Bugs and insects love to stop them up.

Top
#10957111 - 07/04/15 05:27 PM Re: Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored] [Re: Anchorman]
Anchorman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/02/15
Posts: 1173
Loc: Small Town NE Texas
I had previously stuck a small wire up in there to clear out anything that may be in there. I didn't feel anything.

Today I went ahead and disconnected all the lines and blew them out with air. You are right Allan W. Bugs were all up in there and had it all stopped up. Thankfully where it was stopped up didn't restrict water flow to the engine...only the p-hole tube.

Problem solved. Thanks.
_________________________
If it ain't yours don't mess with it!
Need a friendly place to talk hunting? www.talkhunting.com


Top
#10957571 - 07/05/15 08:54 AM Re: Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored] [Re: Anchorman]
Allan W Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/04/09
Posts: 1166
Loc: EM Lake
Good deal

Top
#10958451 - 07/05/15 08:19 PM Re: Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored] [Re: Anchorman]
Topwater2 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/06/14
Posts: 659
In between fishing, i'll roll up a piece a paper and plug the wee wee hole. I had that bug problem twice and there won't be a third.
_________________________
FishKen

Top
#10958663 - 07/05/15 10:17 PM Re: Yamaha 4 stoke 15hp won't [censored] [Re: Topwater2]
Anchorman Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/02/15
Posts: 1173
Loc: Small Town NE Texas
Originally Posted By: FishKen
In between fishing, i'll roll up a piece a paper and plug the wee wee hole. I had that bug problem twice and there won't be a third.


That's a good idea. Thanks for the tip. I wonder if a golf tee might work?
_________________________
If it ain't yours don't mess with it!
Need a friendly place to talk hunting? www.talkhunting.com


Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide