Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82883
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73443
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59904
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56432
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859247 Topics
11272431 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10933164 - 06/22/15 01:39 PM Can you guys answer me this?
Workfishngolf37 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/02/12
Posts: 526
I took my boat to have a thru the hull transducer installed and have them save the old transducer. Instead they move the transducer that was mounted on the transom and epoxy it next to the transdurcer that was in the hull already. There's no way it could have been center since the first transducer is centered. The installer said that's the way they always do it. His reasoning was that by trying to get old transducer out sometimes breaks the hull. My question is. Does this sound right? Is this the professional way to install thru the hull transducer?

Top
#10933196 - 06/22/15 02:02 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
Fish Killer Offline
Big Sexy

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 24912
Loc: Weatherford
I have two thru hulls mounted in my boat next to each other. One is my old flasher and one is for my Lowrance. No issues. I have also removed one to replace it, it didn't damage anything. Just had to tap it with a mallet to break the epoxy loose.
_________________________
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#10933263 - 06/22/15 02:54 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
Workfishngolf37 Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 12/02/12
Posts: 526
Is there a big difference in using thru the hull transducer vs the transducer that come in the box when I bought the unit? That's meant for transom mount.

Top
#10933273 - 06/22/15 02:59 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
Fish Killer Offline
Big Sexy

Registered: 12/11/04
Posts: 24912
Loc: Weatherford
Durability, wear and tear is a lot better since its not getting beat on by stumps and rocks.
_________________________
LIKE the TFF on Facebook - www.facebook.com/texasfishingforum

Top
#10933283 - 06/22/15 03:06 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
bogey Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 02/21/08
Posts: 14515
Loc: plano
I mounted mine on the side also. Mine was originally supposed to be an outside the hull Xducer, but I mounted it inside the boat for the reasons Fish Killer stated. works perfect and never an issue.
_________________________




Thinking about new seats? Come check out mine before you buy. www.bassboatseats.com

Top
#10933290 - 06/22/15 03:08 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
Bobby Milam Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 2005
Loc: Arlington
Some people can't get the transom mounted to work when on plane. Thru the hill will give them readings at speed and won't get damaged by stumps. If you use side imaging you will need the transom mount but can also mount the thru hull for 2d reasons at speed.


As far as the original post, I can understand them not removing the original, if they are able to mount another one because they don't know how it was put in place originally and if it did damage when removing, they'd be liable. The fact that you asked for the other to be removed and saved, they should have atleast discussed it with you before making their own decision on how to proceed. Other than that reason, I see no reason that the new transducer shouldn't work just as well as you probably won't be able to see the difference of a few inches on your screen.

You did pay for the service and if you aren't happy then take it back and have them repair it.

Top
#10933299 - 06/22/15 03:13 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
furim2 Offline
Angler

Registered: 04/16/08
Posts: 423
Loc: Pilot Point, TX
Sounds like your question is, "should the thru hull transducer be centered?" That's not a big deal as long as it was mounted shooting straight down. I would have a problem with mounting a skimmer transducer thru the hull. I have always used the puck type because they have a flat bottom. You want complete contact with the transducer and the hull. Installed correctly, they are not coming out. If you had a puck transducer mounted at your transom, I would not have any worries with this set up.

Top
#10933810 - 06/22/15 07:34 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
SRitchey Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 10/31/13
Posts: 716
Loc: McKinney, TX
A skimmer ducer will work just as well as a puck for shoot thru applications IF installed properly. It's a little tougher but really not that hard. Mine reads at WOT no problems.
_________________________
Steve


Top
#10933820 - 06/22/15 07:42 PM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
slim 285 Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 08/25/05
Posts: 5195
Loc: Squeezepenny
If I take it to someone and tell them what I what and they don't do it the way I wanted it. Yes we have problems.

Top
#10934508 - 06/23/15 08:33 AM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
DAN-O Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/21/04
Posts: 2443
Loc: MANSFIELD, TEXAS, USA
I have two in the bottom of mine, and fixing to add a third one. I don't want to cut wires on old ones that came with boat in case I ever need to use it with another locator. I have one on front with the TM too. If it's not broke...don't fix it. My .02. One up front is a lowrance X65. Two in back are Lowrance flasher original in the dash, and now a Lowrance LMS 520. No interference at all, and GPS is old school disc mounted on the top of the side rail.

Top
#10934639 - 06/23/15 09:21 AM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
cayuro Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/21/15
Posts: 100
thats right dont worry
_________________________
I adore the Brand New XBOX One I just won two weeks ago!
Want to win your own?
here http://j.mp/xboxone4free

Top
#10934748 - 06/23/15 10:05 AM Re: Can you guys answer me this? [Re: Workfishngolf37]
JacksonBean Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 06/23/10
Posts: 3163
Loc: Greenville, TX
Originally Posted By: Workfishngolf37
I took my boat to have a thru the hull transducer installed and have them save the old transducer. Instead they move the transducer that was mounted on the transom and epoxy it next to the transdurcer that was in the hull already. There's no way it could have been center since the first transducer is centered. The installer said that's the way they always do it. His reasoning was that by trying to get old transducer out sometimes breaks the hull. My question is. Does this sound right? Is this the professional way to install thru the hull transducer?



How well is it marking the bottom cover you are familiar with?

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide