Print Thread
Lake Sam Rayburn Property #10931619 06/21/15 08:07 PM
T
TxStLipRipper Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
My dad is currently looking at buying some land on Rayburn. He's curious as to which part of the lake is best both fishing wise and scenery wise. Any help is appreciated!

Re: Lake Sam Rayburn Property [Re: TxStLipRipper] #10932308 06/22/15 12:25 PM
D
Doctoordan Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
D
I'm not an expert on Rayburn by any means, but here's my 2cents worth
Not sure if this is a weekender or permanent residence.
If permanent or has the potential of becoming retirement location, then you need to focus on proximity to bigger towns with things to do. Always consider medical facilities, that's why the area up around the bridge is so popular, it's closer to Lufkin and Nacadoches. It's also about where the water starts clearing up a little.
The south end around Brookeland has the clearest water but the most recreational boaters. The South end is also only about 20 minutes from Jasper. This gives you access to food, supplies, and doctors but you'll still need to go to Lufkin for a hospital. Closest descent hospital is Beaumont about 1.5 hours away.
The Broadus area is one of the more affordable areas.
As to scenery, get in a boat and ride around. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.
One thing a lot of people don't consider if it's a retirement location is access to Internet. It has become a necessity and you don't want to get stuck with the satellite internet (expensive and slow). Most people scoff at considering a lot of these things, that's why they move to the lake and then put it up for sale and move back to civilization within 2 years. They are bored to death!
If it's just a weekend camp you need to consider zoning etc...for any type of camp you may want.