Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Lilleyj7, D.RODGERS, mikyfran, SaltwaterGospel, Nicholas Moudy
102741 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82901
hopalong 74411
Pilothawk 73456
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59942
Tritonman 56844
Derek 56448
SkeeterRonnie 52467
LoneStarSon® 52229
facebook
Forum Stats
102741 Members
61 Forums
859435 Topics
11275249 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#10927996 - 06/19/15 10:25 AM How to thru-hull mount my transducer
Rhino68W Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 5675
Loc: Benbrook, TX
What should I use? I know some recommended marine goop, but I don't want the application to be that permanent. Can I use regular clear silicone?

I know I will need to sand the hull to help it stick better, and plan on using some foam to cut out the transducer shape to secure it.
_________________________
Goats are like mushrooms. If you shoot a duck, i'm a toaster.

Top
#10928392 - 06/19/15 01:23 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
Happy Birthday Jerry Hamon Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 12/31/06
Posts: 7333
Loc: Van Alstyne, TX USA
I always use marine Goop and have never had an issue removing it.

Top
#10928831 - 06/19/15 04:19 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
Rhino68W Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 5675
Loc: Benbrook, TX
Oh, I thought it was super strong like JB Weld for some reason. Well then I guess it's time for some sand paper, foam, and Marine Goop!
_________________________
Goats are like mushrooms. If you shoot a duck, i'm a toaster.

Top
#10930264 - 06/20/15 03:08 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
stewage Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 03/13/15
Posts: 139
Loc: Lake Dallas
Marine goop is relatively easy to get off.

Are you using a down imaging or side imaging unit?

If so, post some graph pictures so we can see what it looks like through hull!

Top
#10930757 - 06/20/15 09:38 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
BKT Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/27/13
Posts: 1210
Loc: Apple Springs
Duct seal. No sanding. No foam.

Top
#10933062 - 06/22/15 01:02 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: stewage]
Rhino68W Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 11/06/14
Posts: 5675
Loc: Benbrook, TX
Originally Posted By: stewage
Marine goop is relatively easy to get off.

Are you using a down imaging or side imaging unit?

If so, post some graph pictures so we can see what it looks like through hull!


It's just a basic Elite 4X. None of the extra stuff lol
_________________________
Goats are like mushrooms. If you shoot a duck, i'm a toaster.

Top
#11396277 - 02/06/16 10:21 AM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
justindfw Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 03/18/11
Posts: 777
Loc: alvarado
I used duct seal. Worked great and not perm

Top
#11507427 - 03/28/16 09:18 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
jwalts Offline
Angler

Registered: 01/01/11
Posts: 259
Loc: Junction,Tx
can you mount a DI transducer thru the hull?

Top
#11602857 - 05/14/16 01:15 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: justindfw]
Jesse in OK Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/21/14
Posts: 54
Originally Posted By: justindfw
I used duct seal. Worked great and not perm


Are you guys using the "putty" type brick of Duct Seal?

Top
#11602880 - 05/14/16 01:46 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: Rhino68W
What should I use? I know some recommended marine goop, but I don't want the application to be that permanent. Can I use regular clear silicone?

I know I will need to sand the hull to help it stick better, and plan on using some foam to cut out the transducer shape to secure it.


Rhino, in reality, you need to get a hole saw and drill a big hole in the bottom of your boat if you want to mount a transducer "thru-hull". This means the transducer is mounted in a hole cut THROUGH the hull. I'm sure that's now what you are doing, but there are special transducers for that.

When you place a transducer inside the bilge of a boat, you are doing a "Shoot through hull" installation. Obviously a huge difference......

Top
#11602889 - 05/14/16 01:54 PM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: jwalts]
Flippin-Out Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/25/15
Posts: 1564
Loc: Magnolia, TX
Originally Posted By: jwalts
can you mount a DI transducer thru the hull?


I am not aware of any Navico/Lowrance DI transducer designed to be mounted in a hole cut through the bottom of a boat (which is what a "THRU THE HULL" installation is). You're almost certainly also borrowing the wrong terminology that people get confused on.

"Thru-hull" involves a transducer mounted in a hole cut in the bottom of a boat so that the face of the transducer is in contact with water. "Shoot-thru-hull" is an installation where a transducer is placed inside the bilge of a boat so that it transmits signals through the fiberglass and into the water.

As for "shoot through hull" installation, I'm not aware that Lowrance has provided any guidance saying this will work for a DI transducer. The higher frequency of the DI would have a lot more trouble getting through the fiberglass, so I don't think we'll see them recommend that type of installation.


Edited by Flippin-Out (05/14/16 01:54 PM)

Top
#11609674 - 05/18/16 07:06 AM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
lostinthewoods Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/02/12
Posts: 17
Loc: Ft Worth, Texas
I made a foam ring to fit around my Elites transducer and stuck it and the transducer down with flowable silicone. The type auto stores sell for fixing leaky windshields. DI and all other functions work great.

Top
#11614013 - 05/20/16 12:08 AM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
krazydaddy2 Offline
Angler

Registered: 02/18/12
Posts: 322
Loc: east texas
I have the four pro x lowrance for a starter depth finder. MY transducer is mounted with 100% silicone it does just fine for my application.

Top
#11614044 - 05/20/16 04:42 AM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: jwalts]
Cigga Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 248
Loc: Frisco, TX
Originally Posted By: jwalts
can you mount a DI transducer thru the hull?


Yes, shoot thru hull with a DI transducer in a kayak will work just fine. The plastic in the kayak is so thin that, it wont affect it much at all. Boat is a different story. Mine works great in my kayak. I used marine goop to glue mine in place.
_________________________

Top
#11702046 - 07/03/16 12:14 AM Re: How to thru-hull mount my transducer [Re: Rhino68W]
Warhawk Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 04/01/06
Posts: 205
Loc: Hot Springs, AR
I am running a Garmin 70dv with the transducer mounted inside the hull. I used duct seal, and was sure to work out any bubbles.

I don't trust the water temp measurement, but haven't been able to compare it to an in water transducer.

The sonar works great, both traditional 2d sonar and down imaging.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide