Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander, Nauti_Bouy
102725 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82877
hopalong 74395
Pilothawk 73437
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59900
Tritonman 56831
Derek 56424
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102725 Members
61 Forums
859141 Topics
11270904 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10911241 - 06/11/15 01:58 PM Problem with Ford Sync
Lil joe Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/30/13
Posts: 2915
Loc: lake conroe, tx
I recently started downloading iTunes music on my iphone to play in my truck, it's a 2010. I connected the phone to the sync system and after a lot of button pushing I finally got it to play. After that I could never get it to play again. I searched the internet and found that the sync software needs to be updated possibly. I went and bought a USB drive to install the update. When I plug in the USB drive it does nothing. I'm beyond frustrated with this thing. I would be happy if it would just play through the USB cable but that doesn't work either. Has anyone else here dealt with this issue or know how to fix it?

Top
#10911263 - 06/11/15 02:09 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
UJC Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/12/07
Posts: 1751
Loc: Plano, TX
I have a 2010 Ford w/Sync and I am having no problems although I don't use the phone for music. I do use a USB Stick. To get it to work I have to keep pushing the 'Media' button on the steering wheel til it cycles to the USB before it plays. If I leave it on USB and turn the engine off, it begins with USB, likewise for whatever was last used when the engine was killed. I've never updated Sync to my knowledge. Maybe the Dealership has when I brought it in for service.

I'd call your dealership or just stop by any dealer - it should be quick fix on the spot.

Top
#10911314 - 06/11/15 02:33 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
redchevy Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/05
Posts: 6161
Loc: texas
We have a 2014 with sync. They have a service bulletin for updating some of the computer stuff. Ours the clock wouldn't reset you could go in and change the time but it would just keep going back to the wrong time, think other similar problems were with the ratio stations etc. May see if it falls under that. Have you looked in the owner manual? it has instructions to set up sync and you may try google'ing it.

Top
#10911370 - 06/11/15 03:03 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
Samsonsworld Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/12/08
Posts: 2753
Loc: Roaming West Texas
I don't have any issues with Sync other than I have to re-connect the bluetooth audio every time I kill the truck, which annoys the heck out of me. I don't understand why it won't default like UConnect does???

Top
#10911406 - 06/11/15 03:19 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Samsonsworld]
redchevy Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/05
Posts: 6161
Loc: texas
Originally Posted By: Samsonsworld
I don't have any issues with Sync other than I have to re-connect the bluetooth audio every time I kill the truck, which annoys the heck out of me. I don't understand why it won't default like UConnect does???


It should, ours does, may be a setting on your phone.

Top
#10911465 - 06/11/15 03:44 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
Samsonsworld Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/12/08
Posts: 2753
Loc: Roaming West Texas
The bluetooth connects but the music defaults to 'line-in'...even though nothing is plugged in.


Edited by Samsonsworld (06/11/15 03:44 PM)

Top
#10911835 - 06/11/15 06:51 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: redchevy]
Lil joe Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 05/30/13
Posts: 2915
Loc: lake conroe, tx
Originally Posted By: redchevy
We have a 2014 with sync. They have a service bulletin for updating some of the computer stuff. Ours the clock wouldn't reset you could go in and change the time but it would just keep going back to the wrong time, think other similar problems were with the ratio stations etc. May see if it falls under that. Have you looked in the owner manual? it has instructions to set up sync and you may try google'ing it.

Yeah, I googled it and that is how I found out about the software update and I checked the owners manual as well as the sync book that is in the packet with the owners manual and it doesn't address any sort of issues like that.

Top
#10911844 - 06/11/15 06:56 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
Fishspanker Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/19/08
Posts: 6555
Loc: Island of Jeff (Humble)
Mine went out totally. It's like it's not even there on my 2009. Seems to have happened about the same time the battery went dead and I had to jump it of. Been meaning to disconnect the power and try to reboot it.
_________________________
A Nation of Sheep will soon have a government of Wolves.

Top
#10913176 - 06/12/15 12:57 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Fishspanker]
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/19/04
Posts: 6983
Loc: Rockwall
Originally Posted By: Fishspanker
Mine went out totally. It's like it's not even there on my 2009. Seems to have happened about the same time the battery went dead and I had to jump it of. Been meaning to disconnect the power and try to reboot it.
When the kids come home and ask for jumper cables and tell them they can use them as long as they are not using their car to jump. You have to be very careful when jumping computerized vehicles.

Top
#10914263 - 06/12/15 10:37 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
FMJshooter Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 1390
Loc: Belton, TX
I could never get mine to remember my Iphone would have to scroll to media-source-usb every time. Figured when I got a windows phone that problem would be solved but turns out Microsoft phones aren't compatible with Microsoft sync software banana hammer. I just use a flash drive now and that works fine.

Are you selecting the source like above when you put the thumb drive in? Think with a truck that new a dealer should be able to do the update for free.


Edited by FMJshooter (06/12/15 10:42 PM)

Top
#10925481 - 06/18/15 10:35 AM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
RedRaider3933 Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/10
Posts: 2874
Loc: Plano, TX
My sync in my 2011 doesn't work worth a flip. I cant even get the option to sync my phone. I scroll through the media options and it completely skips sync. I've tried pulling the sync fuse a few times and it will work for a short time but always goes back out within 24 hours. Not sure what the deal is. I will probably take it to the dealership tomorrow and get them to check it out.
_________________________
Go Tech

Top
#10925841 - 06/18/15 12:25 PM Re: Problem with Ford Sync [Re: Lil joe]
redchevy Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/05
Posts: 6161
Loc: texas
I don't know what all yal have tried, but there is more to it than just turning on blue tooth on your phone and hitting the sync button. The owners manual should give you a step by step on it. If not google it and you can find the instructions. For ours there was a pin number etc. that had to be entered.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide