Main Menu
Newest Members
Erbeman, at61, Yeagerbombs, Clark225, neal shaffer jr
102327 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82173
hopalong 73422
Pilothawk 72818
JDavis7873® 67375
FattyMcButterpants 60428
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56538
Derek 56119
SkeeterRonnie 52392
LoneStarSon® 51978
Forum Stats
102327 Members
60 Forums
853346 Topics
11191439 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10909432 - 06/10/15 05:53 PM Running a trolling motor wire
Mckinneycrappiecatcher Online   content
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 12/20/10
Posts: 3078
Loc: mckinney, tx
I have a bad connection on on of my TM cables somewhere between the front of the boat and the console. Is there any trick to running these or will I have to pull the console or even the floor? Boat is a 22' blazer bay boat CC.

TCU class of 2019

#10909604 - 06/10/15 07:23 PM Re: Running a trolling motor wire [Re: Mckinneycrappiecatcher]
kingdad101 Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 10/24/05
Posts: 20705
Loc: W.F. Texas
I don't know the answer, but I would run a temporary wire on the floor or where ever, to make sure thats the problem...unless you know for sure thats where the problem is...

#10909730 - 06/10/15 08:08 PM Re: Running a trolling motor wire [Re: Mckinneycrappiecatcher]
Bobby Milam Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 07/13/14
Posts: 1855
Loc: Arlington
Not real sure with the bay boat. How I do it on a bass boat with a wire already in place is to tie a cord to the bow end and then go to the other end of the wire and pull it out. Tie the new wire to the cord and pull it back. If I run a new wire without an old one to tie to then get an electricians snake. I see no reason why if one is already there, you couldn't use the cord and be able to pull a new one thru the same area without disassembly.

#10909752 - 06/10/15 08:15 PM Re: Running a trolling motor wire [Re: Mckinneycrappiecatcher]
BigDad Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/16/03
Posts: 2286
Loc: Flower Mound, TX, USA
+1 on pulling in the new one while pulling out the old one

#10910357 - 06/11/15 06:49 AM Re: Running a trolling motor wire [Re: Mckinneycrappiecatcher]
Bob Landry Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 08/10/11
Posts: 1879
Loc: Austin, Tx
Look at where the wire disappears. If it goes into a hole with other wires, it is probably bundled with them using tie wraps and you won't be able to use it as a messenger. I would do whatever it takes to expose and completely remove the old wire. I do a lot of marine wiring and my hot button is running across open ended wires that have been cut and let in place and are doing noting. It just makes for a sloppy job.

If you are going to go to the trouble to replace with new wire, use the best, marine grade, tinned, 6 gauge, quality crimp connectors and heat shrink on your connections. It only cost a little more to use quality materials, not the Home Depot stuff.
2015 Seaark 1872 MV CC
Etec 90 HP

Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel

#10910360 - 06/11/15 06:51 AM Re: Running a trolling motor wire [Re: Mckinneycrappiecatcher]
gary purdy Offline
TFF Guru

Registered: 05/24/03
Posts: 10460
Loc: Littlefield Tx & Lake A. H. US...
Like said lay the wires on top and connect to check for sure. I have had some nightmares on center console boats adding equipment like transducers and steering cables. The factory installed wires on some are zip tied every 1 or 2 ft. and I end up using a fish tape.
“The world will not be destroyed by those who do evil, but by those who watch them without doing anything” GOD IS GOOD


© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide