Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Pres2014, springbass, TV308, jchapman, Ike_WSO
104460 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84505
hopalong 76607
Pilothawk 74367
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 62511
FattyMcButterpants 60659
Tritonman 57369
Derek 57340
SkeeterRonnie 52794
LoneStarSon® 52660
facebook
Forum Stats
104460 Members
60 Forums
787184 Topics
9951737 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10901917 - 06/07/15 08:41 PM Kayak Transducer Mounts
AllenKayaker Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/14/15
Posts: 15
Loc: Allen, TX
Hello all,

I was wondering and looking for opinions on the best way to mount a transducer in a kayak. I've seen many ways to do it, but was wondering which would be best without compromising accuracy. Does an in-hull mount make the transducer less accurate? Thoughts?

Top
#10901956 - 06/07/15 08:58 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1288
Loc: Texas
A through-hull mount will not degrade your sensitivity. It will take the temperature gauge a little bit longer to read accurately. Unless you like getting tangled up in wires and snagging the transducer, it's the best way to do it unless you use side-scanning sonar.

Top
#10902524 - 06/08/15 08:32 AM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
General Jigs Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/09
Posts: 1187
Loc: tx
it has been said that downscan technology doesn't show up as clearly through hull as it does on the water. the main concern I have with through hull is potential damage to the ducer if the yak is left outside on a 100 day. the temps inside the hull could reach 130-140 and may damage the ducer. kept in an insulated shed or garage and it may not be an issue.
_________________________
“For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all men—the testimony given in its proper time.”- 1 Timothy 2:5-6

Top
#10904366 - 06/08/15 08:41 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
YAKaddict Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 506
Loc: Plano
Mounted mine in the hull and It works great so far

Top
#10905899 - 06/09/15 01:53 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
BKT Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/27/13
Posts: 1230
Loc: Apple Springs
I've have mine several different ways and finally settled on thru hull mounted in duct seal. Of course I only have 2d sonar.

Top
#10906593 - 06/09/15 06:50 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
pyledriver Offline
Angler

Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 352
Loc: Plano
Depending on which yak you may be able to use a scupper hole. I did that on my Cuda and it works well!
_________________________
'Today is the day!' - Mel Fisher

www.tejashardscapes.com
'Tejas Hardscapes' on Facebook

Top
#10906638 - 06/09/15 07:15 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
passinthru Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 08/11/14
Posts: 180
Loc: Sanger
Mine is glued down inside, works fine

Top
#10907339 - 06/09/15 11:15 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
Cigga Offline
Angler

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 279
Loc: Frisco, TX
Mine is shoot thru hull with downscan and my images is crystal clear. When gluing the transducer to the hull marine goop, you just have to make sure there arent any air bubbles in the goop. Gluing it is real easy. Shoot thru hull wont work for side scanning.
_________________________

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide