Main Menu
Newest Members
Joe Cantrell, grilla, TJP2121, zahid hasan, wolfeman89
102362 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82223
hopalong 73484
Pilothawk 72890
JDavis7873® 67375
FattyMcButterpants 60428
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56546
Derek 56134
SkeeterRonnie 52408
LoneStarSon® 51998
Forum Stats
102362 Members
60 Forums
853852 Topics
11198568 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10901917 - 06/07/15 08:41 PM Kayak Transducer Mounts
AllenKayaker Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 01/14/15
Posts: 14
Loc: Allen, TX
Hello all,

I was wondering and looking for opinions on the best way to mount a transducer in a kayak. I've seen many ways to do it, but was wondering which would be best without compromising accuracy. Does an in-hull mount make the transducer less accurate? Thoughts?

#10901956 - 06/07/15 08:58 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1164
Loc: Texas
A through-hull mount will not degrade your sensitivity. It will take the temperature gauge a little bit longer to read accurately. Unless you like getting tangled up in wires and snagging the transducer, it's the best way to do it unless you use side-scanning sonar.

#10902524 - 06/08/15 08:32 AM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
General Jigs Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 02/26/09
Posts: 1143
Loc: Benbrook
it has been said that downscan technology doesn't show up as clearly through hull as it does on the water. the main concern I have with through hull is potential damage to the ducer if the yak is left outside on a 100 day. the temps inside the hull could reach 130-140 and may damage the ducer. kept in an insulated shed or garage and it may not be an issue.
“For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all men—the testimony given in its proper time.”- 1 Timothy 2:5-6

#10904366 - 06/08/15 08:41 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
YAKaddict Offline

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 455
Loc: Plano
Mounted mine in the hull and It works great so far

#10905899 - 06/09/15 01:53 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
BKT Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 09/27/13
Posts: 1201
Loc: Apple Springs
I've have mine several different ways and finally settled on thru hull mounted in duct seal. Of course I only have 2d sonar.

#10906593 - 06/09/15 06:50 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
pyledriver Offline

Registered: 12/07/04
Posts: 352
Loc: Plano
Depending on which yak you may be able to use a scupper hole. I did that on my Cuda and it works well!
'Today is the day!' - Mel Fisher
'Tejas Hardscapes' on Facebook

#10906638 - 06/09/15 07:15 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
passinthru Online   content

Registered: 08/11/14
Posts: 149
Loc: Sanger
Mine is glued down inside, works fine

#10907339 - 06/09/15 11:15 PM Re: Kayak Transducer Mounts [Re: AllenKayaker]
Cigga Offline

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 243
Loc: Frisco, TX
Mine is shoot thru hull with downscan and my images is crystal clear. When gluing the transducer to the hull marine goop, you just have to make sure there arent any air bubbles in the goop. Gluing it is real easy. Shoot thru hull wont work for side scanning.


© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide