Print Thread
Advice on Colorado trip #10828325 05/08/15 04:17 PM
D
DuckSlayer60 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
D
I am planning a trip to the Avon/Vail area of Colorado for September. I've never been before. I would like to do a self-guided three day wade fly fishing trip on the Eagle, Gore, and Brush creek. Maybe ending up at Sylvan lake. Since I have no experience in this area, I would appreciate any advice.

Re: Advice on Colorado trip [Re: DuckSlayer60] #10828575 05/08/15 05:58 PM
T
Texjbq Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
T
I'm planning a trip there in August. I'm doing a self-guided trip into the Eagle Nest Wilderness with pack Llamas. I'll mainly be hitting lakes.

I have backpacked up the Gore creek trail and camped at Gore lake. I didn't fish it but it looked good. The Gore range is absolutely stunning. Their my favorite mountain range in Colorado and I've backpacked in most of them. In terms of beauty I'd focus my time there. According to my Llama guy most of the lakes have excellent brook trout fishing.

Gore Creek:

Gore Lake:

Re: Advice on Colorado trip [Re: DuckSlayer60] #10828745 05/08/15 07:12 PM
D
DuckSlayer60 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
D
that looks awesome. Please let me know how you do in August. I will definitely check out the Gore creek trail. Thanks!

Re: Advice on Colorado trip [Re: DuckSlayer60] #10841111 05/13/15 04:32 PM
M
Markac2688 Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
M
This place look awesome! If there is any fishing there please pm me. I am looking to take a fishing trip soon

Re: Advice on Colorado trip [Re: DuckSlayer60] #10841540 05/13/15 06:45 PM
L
Lloyd5 Offline
Pro Angler
Pro Angler
L
There is an active fishing forum in Colorado - you can join free and ask questions of the local fishermen. They'll be able to give you current and accurate information from personal experience: http://www.fishexplorer.com/co/fxrforum.asp

I'm on the Texas site of this forum and the Colorado folks are awesome.