Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
hillcountrybass, Linda Robert, Gnhattien, Robert black, Calexander
102726 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82880
hopalong 74403
Pilothawk 73442
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59903
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56431
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102726 Members
61 Forums
859224 Topics
11272000 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10862736 - 05/21/15 09:56 PM New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI
Big Mouth Brett Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/19/15
Posts: 65
So I got a new graph and was curious if I could use the old wires already ran from an old Lowrance and just need to run the new HDI transducer wires? I read somewhere that you could use the "blue" caps from old units. Is this true? Also, I am fairly new to this so should I put the new transducer as a thru hull or put outside my boat? I have a 2005 skeeter TZX190 so if the outside where on the boat should I put it. This will be my console graph.

Thanks for the tips!

Top
#10862847 - 05/21/15 10:35 PM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
bbassfishes Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 09/30/12
Posts: 524
Loc: Granbury, TX
I don't think you can really use the HDI transducer with through hull. If you are mounting it at the console, then the transducer needs to go on the back. Somewhere near the bottom, where none of the striations (aka the flatest part) from the bottom of the boat won't obstruct your signal with water flow or wash off from them while running. The transducer itself should hand down slighting below the boat, aprox. 1/8 of an inch so you get an accurate reading while running as well.
_________________________

Youtube Channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuYpZA2hNTEObCBAgcqCE2A

Top
#10863083 - 05/22/15 05:41 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
patriot07 Online   content
TFF Guru

Registered: 04/20/10
Posts: 16835
Loc: chateau d'if
2D-only transducers are fine shooting through the hull. But you'll lose some definition if your try to stick HDI or SI/DI transducers inside. Mount it on the transom. Doesn't have to be that low. Just has to be comfortably under the water line. Mine is a good 8" from the bottom of my transom, which limits the risk of it being knocked off. It also limits it's SI range on the side it has to look past the motor, but I don't really care about SI that much.

What do you mean "run the old wires"? Are you talking about power? If so, that should be fine I would think. Anything else, you'll probably have to run new.
_________________________
Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.
- Soren Kierkegaard

Top
#10863185 - 05/22/15 07:26 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
rowlettfisherman Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/25/12
Posts: 724
You can use the blue cap power wire and will have to run the transducer to the outside of your boat if you want down imaging to work. It won't shoot thru hull. I put mine as close to the bottom as possible without hanging below the boat so it wouldn't get knocked off

Top
#10863403 - 05/22/15 08:59 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: rowlettfisherman]
04champ Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/22/15
Posts: 5355
Originally Posted By: rowlettfisherman
You can use the blue cap power wire and will have to run the transducer to the outside of your boat if you want down imaging to work. It won't shoot thru hull. I put mine as close to the bottom as possible without hanging below the boat so it wouldn't get knocked off


this

Top
#10863577 - 05/22/15 10:05 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: rowlettfisherman]
Big Mouth Brett Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/19/15
Posts: 65
So when you say as close to the bottom without hanging below the boat, you just mean to drill a hole in the boat to run the wire through but you do not let yours hang below the boat and is that so it you were to hit a stump or something then it would not break the ducer off? Sorry, I am really new to the boating world and I have an old LCX-17m on my boat which the GPS function doesn't work which is why i bought this graph.

Thanks for the help again!

Top
#10863581 - 05/22/15 10:07 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
04champ Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/22/15
Posts: 5355
do a google search for "your boat" + skimmer transducer installation

there should be a ton of info out there regarding best placement specific to your model and year boat

Top
#10863614 - 05/22/15 10:24 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
rowlettfisherman Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 01/25/12
Posts: 724
I ran my wire down the outside of my boat, i wouldn't think you would want to drill a hole that big to fit the connector thru. I ran my wire down my jack plate. And yes it will help with not taking off your transducer the first time you hit a stump!!


Edited by rowlettfisherman (05/22/15 11:18 AM)

Top
#10863640 - 05/22/15 10:37 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: rowlettfisherman]
04champ Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/22/15
Posts: 5355
Originally Posted By: rowlettfisherman
I ran my wire down the outside of my boat, i wouldn't think you would want to drill a hole that big to fit the connector thru. I ran my wire down my jack plate


when I've done it in the past I drilled in the top cap and put one of those clamshell covers over the hole, filled with marine silcone

Top
#10863762 - 05/22/15 11:31 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: 04champ]
Big Mouth Brett Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/19/15
Posts: 65
my boat has one of those silver clam shell caps you are referring to already in the back of the boat (see below), but nothing going through it. I just need to mount the ducer below this and run the wire through that on the outside of the boat and to the unit? I am going to put it on this weekend and take her out to test if that is all i need to do. i think i have a good enough grasp now to install.




appreciate the insight.

Top
#10863799 - 05/22/15 11:46 AM Re: New graph help needed - Lowrance elite 7 HDI [Re: Big Mouth Brett]
04champ Online   content
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 04/22/15
Posts: 5355
Pretty much

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide