Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Mud Liger, Joe111, EL Mike, onecoolguyhere, killerfishcustom
102700 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82841
hopalong 74353
Pilothawk 73405
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59858
Tritonman 56791
Derek 56400
SkeeterRonnie 52446
LoneStarSon® 52203
facebook
Forum Stats
102700 Members
61 Forums
858612 Topics
11263534 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10839606 - 05/12/15 08:37 PM Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas?
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Has anyone had this problem?? If so, How did you fix it? Motor Guide Trolling Motor.

Thanks!
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839618 - 05/12/15 08:40 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Ricky Taylor Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1607
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
Mines doing the same thing but only running on 2,4,5

Top
#10839680 - 05/12/15 08:53 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
I can't find anything online either...pretty frustrating. I'd rather not take it somewhere and get charged to have them look at it during peak boating season.
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839687 - 05/12/15 08:55 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
wetduck Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/31/08
Posts: 396
Loc: grandview
the contacts on those 2 settings are either worn or arced out. if you can take it apart and inspect them look for the not making contact or burn marks.

Top
#10839694 - 05/12/15 08:57 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Would it be at the pedal or on the head of the unit? Or just check both? Thanks for the input! I'll give it a look.
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839777 - 05/12/15 09:16 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
FMJshooter Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 1390
Loc: Belton, TX
Look at the end of the shaft the speed dial is mounted on, my buddies did that and the switch there was a corroded mess.


Edited by FMJshooter (05/12/15 09:17 PM)

Top
#10839787 - 05/12/15 09:19 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Moose364 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/19/09
Posts: 145
Loc: East Texas
I have 2 of them with the same problem, one is a hand control the other is foot control, pulled both of the off, tried to fix the foot control and after taking it apart it was the contact's on the speed dial, tried cleaning them it worked for a little while then started acting up again, you can find the break down dia online with replacement part's but both of them were factory equip that came on the boats, so I junked them and went to Minn Kota powerdrives that I found on craigslist
_________________________
24' tracker pontoon stripped of the useless stuff rebuilt for crappie and cats

Top
#10839792 - 05/12/15 09:20 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Thanks Guys! I'll check it out tomorrow. I appreciate the input!
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10840534 - 05/13/15 09:08 AM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Jones Trolling Motor Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 428
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
On the Motorguide it could be the switch or the speed coil. On the switch you have a blue wire and a yellow wire (both small wires) swap the position of the wires. If it goes to working on the speeds 1,2, and 5 and you loose 3/4, you have a switch problem. If nothing changes, the problem is probably the speed coil (providing the wires in the head are OK) which is in the lower unit. Call me it I can help.
John
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide