Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
fishing 24/7, Chris Y, paulc, Taylor_Russell, Kenneth aley
103589 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84027
hopalong 75515
Pilothawk 74030
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 61856
FattyMcButterpants 60638
Tritonman 57286
Derek 57033
SkeeterRonnie 52610
LoneStarSon® 52538
facebook
Forum Stats
103589 Members
61 Forums
869423 Topics
11408278 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10839606 - 05/12/15 08:37 PM Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas?
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Has anyone had this problem?? If so, How did you fix it? Motor Guide Trolling Motor.

Thanks!
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839618 - 05/12/15 08:40 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Ricky Taylor Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 10/19/14
Posts: 1662
Loc: Midlothian, Texas
Mines doing the same thing but only running on 2,4,5

Top
#10839680 - 05/12/15 08:53 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
I can't find anything online either...pretty frustrating. I'd rather not take it somewhere and get charged to have them look at it during peak boating season.
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839687 - 05/12/15 08:55 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
wetduck Offline
Angler

Registered: 03/31/08
Posts: 406
Loc: grandview
the contacts on those 2 settings are either worn or arced out. if you can take it apart and inspect them look for the not making contact or burn marks.

Top
#10839694 - 05/12/15 08:57 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Would it be at the pedal or on the head of the unit? Or just check both? Thanks for the input! I'll give it a look.
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10839777 - 05/12/15 09:16 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
FMJshooter Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/08
Posts: 1390
Loc: Belton, TX
Look at the end of the shaft the speed dial is mounted on, my buddies did that and the switch there was a corroded mess.


Edited by FMJshooter (05/12/15 09:17 PM)

Top
#10839787 - 05/12/15 09:19 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Moose364 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/19/09
Posts: 145
Loc: East Texas
I have 2 of them with the same problem, one is a hand control the other is foot control, pulled both of the off, tried to fix the foot control and after taking it apart it was the contact's on the speed dial, tried cleaning them it worked for a little while then started acting up again, you can find the break down dia online with replacement part's but both of them were factory equip that came on the boats, so I junked them and went to Minn Kota powerdrives that I found on craigslist
_________________________
24' tracker pontoon stripped of the useless stuff rebuilt for crappie and cats

Top
#10839792 - 05/12/15 09:20 PM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Kevin6324 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 11/20/10
Posts: 61
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Thanks Guys! I'll check it out tomorrow. I appreciate the input!
_________________________
A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at work.

Top
#10840534 - 05/13/15 09:08 AM Re: Trolling Motor won't work on speed 1 and 2 only on 3,4,5....any Ideas? [Re: Kevin6324]
Jones Trolling Motor Offline
Angler

Registered: 05/01/11
Posts: 452
Loc: NE Texas/SW Arkansas
On the Motorguide it could be the switch or the speed coil. On the switch you have a blue wire and a yellow wire (both small wires) swap the position of the wires. If it goes to working on the speeds 1,2, and 5 and you loose 3/4, you have a switch problem. If nothing changes, the problem is probably the speed coil (providing the wires in the head are OK) which is in the lower unit. Call me it I can help.
John
_________________________

www.jonestrollingmotor.com
texarkana, Ark/Tx

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide