Main Menu
Newest Members
Wild Edibles, harry pham, bullet man, Logo, LLCC
102336 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82182
hopalong 73428
Pilothawk 72826
JDavis7873® 67375
FattyMcButterpants 60428
John175 ® 59617
Tritonman 56538
Derek 56121
SkeeterRonnie 52395
LoneStarSon® 51984
Forum Stats
102336 Members
60 Forums
853416 Topics
11192590 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10839287 - 05/12/15 06:35 PM Thru hull transducers
YAKaddict Offline

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 447
Loc: Plano
Im looking at grabbing a lowrance and I want to have a transducer that shoots thru hull . My questions are does the lowrance come with that type of tranny out of the box or do I have to buy a special one , and secondly what do you guys think of thru hull compared to mounting on a arm?

#10839372 - 05/12/15 07:18 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
J.T.69 Offline

Registered: 03/13/10
Posts: 335
Loc: Rice,texas
I've been told that down imaging want work threw hull! I use the liberator arm on my tarpon 120
Troy & Melissa Foreman
2015 Hobie Mirage Pro Angler 14
2015 Hobie Mirage Pro Angler 12
8.2 PB Purtis Creek 2015

#10839581 - 05/12/15 08:31 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
Fish ZoMbiE Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 03/25/09
Posts: 9626
I ran tradionial sonar (this $100 dual beam hummingbird 170) on my Cobra FishnDive.

I was curious how it compaired so we did the test on the water over bait and structer.

It worked just as well & showed everything the other transducer did that was directly in the water showed. The only difference was my Temperature readings were delayed not live.



#10839943 - 05/12/15 10:13 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
Federale Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 02/22/05
Posts: 731
Loc: Fort Worth
Its true that thru hull can work just as good with standard 2d IF it's mounted correctly and there are no air bubbles. This is not always easy to do and if you ever get interference or weird readings you will just have to wonder if your seal has been compromised or if there is another problem. Plus the water temp issue Zombie mentioned. Someone did a thorough test and write up a couple of years ago about DI and thru hull mounting and the final determination was that it works but you do get slightly less clear readings but not that bad. Obviously side imaging is not an option.

To me there are just to many draw backs to thru hull when there are so many other options to mounting directly in the water most of which keep your ducer completely protected.

one of my preferred methods:

Edited by Federale (05/13/15 07:06 AM)

#10840041 - 05/12/15 10:53 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
Cigga Offline

Registered: 06/04/10
Posts: 241
Loc: Frisco, TX
I have a lowrance mark 4 hdi and it is installed shoot through hull. I have no problems with the down scan imaging. I get a pretty clear picture. As federale mentioned, you have to make sure there is no air bubbles in the marine goop when gluing the the transducer to the hull. Side scan will not work with shoot throug hull install. And temperature reading wont be accurate until after being int he water for a while. I just personally dont like having mounts and brackets hanging around to get tangles or knocked off or damage the transducer when I beach the kayak. That is why i prefer shoot through hull.

#10840290 - 05/13/15 07:37 AM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
Jim Ford Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 1163
Loc: Texas
Yep, transducers and wires hanging around where they can get snagged work for some folks, in open water. But some folks don't want or need anything where it can snag on brush, cordgrass, oysters, etc. It all depends on how & where you fish. And just for the record, I've been running through-hull setups for years on two of my kayaks without issues. If the Goop starts to let go and air gets underneath, put a little water in the hull and you'll be fine to finish the trip. Then reGoop it when you get home. I've only had to do that once so far.

#10843227 - 05/14/15 05:31 AM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
Bass Art Offline
TFF Team Angler

Registered: 03/16/03
Posts: 3850
Loc: Talty, TX
Humminbird makes this mounting kit for kayaks. It works very well. I have one in my Commander, and I don't lose any sensitivity. Put a little water in the transducer well when you launch and you are good to go. No issues with air bubbles, because the transducer sits in water.
Dad took me fishing when I was 10, and I've been pretty much hooked since. He went to be with God on August 14, 2012. I miss you, Dad.

#10845164 - 05/14/15 08:03 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
YAKaddict Offline

Registered: 11/02/14
Posts: 447
Loc: Plano
Thanks for the replies fellas!

#10847324 - 05/15/15 05:28 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
YAKnIT Offline

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 125
Not sure on the DSI, question, but otherwise thru-hull is the way to go. I've got a Lowrance mark 5 (not DSI) and it works perfectly. I noticed no difference whatsoever compared to hanging it over the side on a transducer arm. No arm dragging in the water (which makes a surprising amount of noise), no wires, don't have to worry about banging it around when you beach the yak, etc. You do have to be careful to ensure there are no air bubbles. I used something similar to Marine Goop. I got a bright flashlight and shined it into the goop before I stuck the transducer in there. I popped all the little air bubbles with an needle - no problems at all on the first try.

#10847524 - 05/15/15 07:37 PM Re: Thru hull transducers [Re: YAKaddict]
KayakJack Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 05/06/15
Posts: 2
Loc: Carrollton, TX
Not true....I have a FS10 kayak and a Lowrance 4X HDI and I have the transducer marine gooped under the seat of my Yak and runs SONAR and Downscale Imaging just fine with color and split imaging like a pro.

Rough up the bottom of the YAK with sandpaper before you put a generous amount of marine goop...then as you place the transducer in place wiggle it side to side a bit (1/2" intervals) so that you get all the air bubbles out. Just Say'n!

I googled and talked to several people before I mounted mine. With the through hull approach you don't have to worry about the transducer when running in shallow creeks and ponds grabbing the vegetation.

I can send you photos if you need to see my installation. Been on there since October of 14 and its still solid!!!

Edited by KayakJack (05/15/15 07:38 PM)
Edit Reason: additional information added
Jack in Dallas!!!!
If I ain't fishing, I ain't HAPPY!


© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide