Page 1 of 2 1 2
Catfish In Small Rivers #10825048 05/07/15 01:40 PM
A
Aixsponsa Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
There is a small bayou next to my house that I want to start to start seriously fishing for catfish. When I say small, it's about 25 feet wide and 3-6' deep at normal water levels. When the water is at the top of the banks (but not spilling over) it's probably 30-35' wide and 12-20' deep. It runs through oak bottoms, so it's got a lot of timber and soft organic bottoms. There are some places that the bottom is firm, but most places it's organic muck. There are absolutely no places with sand/sandbars nor gravel. This is a mud/timber/roots kind of bayou.

I'm very experienced fishing with a rod and reel for bass, panfish, and inshore saltwater fish, but I'm a novice when it comes to catfish, especially with gear other than rod and reel. I know the bayou well, but when the water gets low again I plan on scouting it and noting hard bottoms, finding some holes, and finding sunken timber, and maybe even a few places that the bank has washed out. As I said, I want to begin seriously learning how to consistently catch catfish for fun and for family food, this is not for commercial fishing.

I'd like to do most of this fishing from the bank, but I'll use a boat if I have to, Especially during high water.
I make fish nets and traps, so I have those to use, but I also have recently put together a dozen "ditty poles" and trotlines.

My questions are:

Where do you recommend setting trotlines, and how? I know that the mouths of tributaries are great spots and they make a deeper hole in the bayou. Do you like to set trotlines suspended across the mouth of the tributary, or tied off from the tributary's corners out into the bayou with a heavy weight making it a trotline offering hooks from deep all the way to shallow?