Page 1 of 2 1 2
What wakes to try to avoid in a bass boat #10824382 05/07/15 02:40 AM
D
djones03 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Right now I am in a 17 ft aluminum and I don't dare try to take on wakes from ski and wakeboard boats on plane. I am going to be moving up to a larger fiberglass bass boat. Do they handle these wakes better or it is best to still try to avoid them. I know there a lot of variables like how soon you hit the wake, angle, and how rough the water is already. I just read about bryon velvick cracking a vertebrae due to running up on a rogue wake, and other horror stories like the boat in arlington that had the motor snap off the mounts. I'm just new to boating and trying to get some info on safely handling these situations. Any help would be great.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: What wakes to try to avoid in a bass boat [Re: djones03] #10824424 05/07/15 02:51 AM
B
brandon f. Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
B
While I don't have much experience in aluminum boats, I think you will find a sizable fiberglass boat will be much heavier and will handle much better than your current set up. That being said, big boats will still put out a big wake and you should use caution when crossing their wake.

I did watch Byrons videos that he posted (I think I saw them on wired2fish but not sure...) and I think I remember that he indicated he was traveling around 68mph and that boat was a huge party type/sight seeing boat that was 200 feet long and 4 levels tall. Now that's a big [censored] boat. I know I have not encountered a boat that was actively operating that size on any lake.

I was with a partner in a college tourney when we speared a barge wake on the Red River. That was not fun at all...

Just use caution when/if you are crossing wakes or waves and use good judgment and you should be okay most of the time.