Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Drewski81, Tucker01, Bigfish117, Crappie Hound, Bass_elite
103168 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 83695
hopalong 74991
Pilothawk 73819
JDavis7873® 67378
John175 ® 61101
FattyMcButterpants 60593
Tritonman 57174
Derek 56843
SkeeterRonnie 52571
LoneStarSon® 52419
facebook
Forum Stats
103168 Members
62 Forums
865570 Topics
11362489 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10820258 - 05/05/15 01:37 PM CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles
UGLYSHCTICK Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/15
Posts: 2640
Loc: East Texas
Having trouble clearing the code after I put the new CO2 sensor on my F150. I first tried the un hook battery trick / then invested in a code reader / eraser. Both clear the code but it comes back after I drive it a few miles.

Any suggestions?
_________________________
Sorry, I have nothing inspirational here. See next Sig.

Top
#10820462 - 05/05/15 02:31 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
2015fordnut Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 1724
Loc: Garland, TX
What code is it. Doesn't necessarily mean it's an O2 sensor. If your having problems with CO2 then open a window. eeks sorry couldn't resist.
_________________________

Top
#10820507 - 05/05/15 02:46 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
UGLYSHCTICK Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/15
Posts: 2640
Loc: East Texas
code is PO130 / O2 censor circuit malfunction bank 1 sensor 1.

I keep the windows cracked for my methane leaks... flush
_________________________
Sorry, I have nothing inspirational here. See next Sig.

Top
#10820544 - 05/05/15 03:02 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
2015fordnut Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 1724
Loc: Garland, TX
Was the old O2 that came off a Bosch sensor and did you replace it with the identical one? There used to be a problem in the past that they didn't like anything other than OEM. When the 97 went out years back 80K miles ago I was able to get the OEM Bosch sensor at Autozone.


http://www.obd-codes.com/p0130


OBD-II Trouble Code Technical Description

02 Sensor Circuit Malfunction (Bank I Sensor 1)

What does that mean?

The O2 sensor produces a voltage based on oxygen content in the exhaust. The voltage varies between .1 and .9 Volts, .1 indicating lean and .9 indicating rich.



The ECM constantly monitors this voltage while in closed loop to determine how much fuel to inject. If the ECM determines that the O2 sensor voltage was too low (less than .4 Volts) for too long (for more than 20 seconds (time varies with model)), this code is set.

Potential Symptoms

Depending if the problem is intermittent or not, there may be no symptoms other than MIL (malfunction indicator lamp) illumination. If the problem is constant, then symptoms may include one or more of the following:
•MIL illumination
•Engine runs rough, missing or stumbling
•Blows black smoke from tail pipe
•Engine dies
• Poor fuel economy
_________________________

Top
#10820584 - 05/05/15 03:14 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
UGLYSHCTICK Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/15
Posts: 2640
Loc: East Texas
I know the replacement was Bosch from O'Riley, not sure on the old one. I did compare them and they were identical in appearance. It was $128.00 and pretty certain I cannot return because of it being an electrical part. thanks 97fordnut for you input. Need to take it to someone I guess, have to get inspection before to long.
_________________________
Sorry, I have nothing inspirational here. See next Sig.

Top
#10820642 - 05/05/15 03:33 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
2015fordnut Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 1724
Loc: Garland, TX
One thing that comes to mind, when I replaced both of mine on the 97 they came with dielectric grease already in the plug. They use that to keep water out, just make sure there isn't anything on the plug prongs or you have a good clean connection or a bad wire, yep the plugs are a PITA to get to I know. And yes the Bosch are the OEM's.


Edited by 97fordnut (05/05/15 03:34 PM)
_________________________

Top
#10820656 - 05/05/15 03:40 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
BassBucknBeer Offline
Angler

Registered: 08/24/13
Posts: 376
Loc: Rockwall,TX
Did you make sure you changed the correct one? There should be 2. One before and one after the cat.

Top
#10821098 - 05/05/15 06:48 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
Couples Team Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 05/02/13
Posts: 233
Loc: Lindale
I don't know where in Van Zandt county you live, but I live in Lindale, close to Hideaway and would be more than happy to look at it for you!

Top
#10821580 - 05/05/15 09:22 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
Yellowcat Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 06/11/06
Posts: 9793
Loc: Zabcikville Texas
If its a heater circuit code there is a fuse that will protect the circuit. If its blown it will cause heater circuit codes. And also are you shure you repelced the right sensor? Bank 1 sensor 1 on that engine will be the sensor before the cat on the passenger side.
_________________________
Justin
63lb, 2 58lb, several 40's, 38lb, and several 20lb yellas.



Top
#10822001 - 05/06/15 07:14 AM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
2015fordnut Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 1724
Loc: Garland, TX
If it was the heater circuit then it would throw the PO135, his is throwing PO130. I also assumed that he knew it was the sensor before the cat on the passenger side of the vehicle.
_________________________

Top
#10822389 - 05/06/15 09:51 AM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
UGLYSHCTICK Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 03/18/15
Posts: 2640
Loc: East Texas
thanks for the input and offer guys. I'm gonna crawl back under it check connections and wires again.
_________________________
Sorry, I have nothing inspirational here. See next Sig.

Top
#10823586 - 05/06/15 04:16 PM Re: CO2 sensor 2010 F150 troubles [Re: UGLYSHCTICK]
Nathan "Bull" Montgomery Offline
TFF Celebrity

Registered: 02/23/11
Posts: 5775
Loc: Fort Worth, Tx.
Id say either bad connection/chafed wire or pigtail or maybe the sensor was bad out of the box?

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide