Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JDM1911, aalex.ander, Kellys Guide Service, Tex_T64, S Page
105674 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 85856
hopalong 78097
Pilothawk 75009
JDavis7873® 67382
John175 ® 64725
FattyMcButterpants 60790
Derek 🐝 58202
Tritonman 57542
LoneStarSon® 53221
SkeeterRonnie 52973
facebook
Forum Stats
105674 Members
60 Forums
851005 Topics
12124581 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10804373 - 04/28/15 04:00 PM Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI?
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 749
My motor seems to have some slop in the midsection whenever I pull up and down on the lower unit. It looks like the damper mounts (Underneath the "Vmax" plates on the side of the midsection) have some play in them. Maybe they're worn out???

After researching the internet I see people talking about them, and it turns out that you have to remove the powerhead to get these damn things out. Looking at the bolts confirms this...

Has anyone cut the bolts out, and installed new ones backwards? Seems a hell of a lot easier than the alternative.

Top
#10804828 - 04/28/15 07:02 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
ssmith Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/22/07
Posts: 2802
Loc: scotland tx
the powerhead has to come off to get to them been down that road.

Top
#10805180 - 04/28/15 08:57 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: ssmith]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 749
I know it has to if you want to remove the bolts, but I'm wondering if I can just cut the bolt, buy a new bolt, and put it in backwards. Only difference I can tell would be that the acorn style nuts wouldn't be on the outside.

Top
#10807411 - 04/29/15 06:08 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
Matt M Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/09/07
Posts: 2302
Loc: Royse City , tx
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens
_________________________
Matts Mobile Marine Service
903-450-3539

Top
#10808723 - 04/30/15 09:24 AM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: Matt M]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 749
Originally Posted By: Matt M
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens


Good point, thanks. I believe I could make it work.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide