Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JillRenee', Jmayo94, IrvN, BrazosRiver, eldubya3
103962 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84216
hopalong 75930
Pilothawk 74187
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 62183
FattyMcButterpants 60645
Tritonman 57318
Derek 57162
SkeeterRonnie 52701
LoneStarSon® 52585
facebook
Forum Stats
103962 Members
61 Forums
835134 Topics
11918663 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10804373 - 04/28/15 04:00 PM Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI?
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 708
My motor seems to have some slop in the midsection whenever I pull up and down on the lower unit. It looks like the damper mounts (Underneath the "Vmax" plates on the side of the midsection) have some play in them. Maybe they're worn out???

After researching the internet I see people talking about them, and it turns out that you have to remove the powerhead to get these damn things out. Looking at the bolts confirms this...

Has anyone cut the bolts out, and installed new ones backwards? Seems a hell of a lot easier than the alternative.

Top
#10804828 - 04/28/15 07:02 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
ssmith Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/22/07
Posts: 2592
Loc: scotland tx
the powerhead has to come off to get to them been down that road.

Top
#10805180 - 04/28/15 08:57 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: ssmith]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 708
I know it has to if you want to remove the bolts, but I'm wondering if I can just cut the bolt, buy a new bolt, and put it in backwards. Only difference I can tell would be that the acorn style nuts wouldn't be on the outside.

Top
#10807411 - 04/29/15 06:08 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
Matt M Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/09/07
Posts: 2301
Loc: Rockwall , tx
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens

Top
#10808723 - 04/30/15 09:24 AM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: Matt M]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 708
Originally Posted By: Matt M
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens


Good point, thanks. I believe I could make it work.

Top



© 1998-2017 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide