Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Gary D Watters, Don Dison, loop, Gadawgs, urosenara
102734 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 82890
hopalong 74407
Pilothawk 73445
JDavis7873® 67377
FattyMcButterpants 60518
John175 ® 59917
Tritonman 56835
Derek 56439
SkeeterRonnie 52463
LoneStarSon® 52225
facebook
Forum Stats
102734 Members
61 Forums
859320 Topics
11273503 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10804373 - 04/28/15 04:00 PM Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI?
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 686
My motor seems to have some slop in the midsection whenever I pull up and down on the lower unit. It looks like the damper mounts (Underneath the "Vmax" plates on the side of the midsection) have some play in them. Maybe they're worn out???

After researching the internet I see people talking about them, and it turns out that you have to remove the powerhead to get these damn things out. Looking at the bolts confirms this...

Has anyone cut the bolts out, and installed new ones backwards? Seems a hell of a lot easier than the alternative.

Top
#10804828 - 04/28/15 07:02 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
ssmith Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/22/07
Posts: 2451
Loc: scotland tx
the powerhead has to come off to get to them been down that road.

Top
#10805180 - 04/28/15 08:57 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: ssmith]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 686
I know it has to if you want to remove the bolts, but I'm wondering if I can just cut the bolt, buy a new bolt, and put it in backwards. Only difference I can tell would be that the acorn style nuts wouldn't be on the outside.

Top
#10807411 - 04/29/15 06:08 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
Matt M Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/09/07
Posts: 2301
Loc: Rockwall , tx
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens

Top
#10808723 - 04/30/15 09:24 AM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: Matt M]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 686
Originally Posted By: Matt M
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens


Good point, thanks. I believe I could make it work.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide