Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
abowhunter123, txdude350, TwoSpeedTony, Kurt L, woodtick84
103559 Registered Users
Top Posters
TexDawg 84017
hopalong 75502
Pilothawk 74024
JDavis7873® 67380
John175 ® 61835
FattyMcButterpants 60638
Tritonman 57282
Derek 57023
SkeeterRonnie 52609
LoneStarSon® 52537
facebook
Forum Stats
103559 Members
61 Forums
869275 Topics
11406192 Posts

Max Online: 36273 @ 01/23/13 02:34 PM
Topic Options
#10804373 - 04/28/15 04:00 PM Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI?
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 702
My motor seems to have some slop in the midsection whenever I pull up and down on the lower unit. It looks like the damper mounts (Underneath the "Vmax" plates on the side of the midsection) have some play in them. Maybe they're worn out???

After researching the internet I see people talking about them, and it turns out that you have to remove the powerhead to get these damn things out. Looking at the bolts confirms this...

Has anyone cut the bolts out, and installed new ones backwards? Seems a hell of a lot easier than the alternative.

Top
#10804828 - 04/28/15 07:02 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
ssmith Online   content
Extreme Angler

Registered: 11/22/07
Posts: 2552
Loc: scotland tx
the powerhead has to come off to get to them been down that road.

Top
#10805180 - 04/28/15 08:57 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: ssmith]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 702
I know it has to if you want to remove the bolts, but I'm wondering if I can just cut the bolt, buy a new bolt, and put it in backwards. Only difference I can tell would be that the acorn style nuts wouldn't be on the outside.

Top
#10807411 - 04/29/15 06:08 PM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: shotgunwilly]
Matt M Offline
Extreme Angler

Registered: 12/09/07
Posts: 2301
Loc: Rockwall , tx
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens

Top
#10808723 - 04/30/15 09:24 AM Re: Has anyone replaced Damper Mounts on HPDI? [Re: Matt M]
shotgunwilly Offline
Pro Angler

Registered: 06/22/08
Posts: 702
Originally Posted By: Matt M
They are designed like that incase the nut vibrates off while running the mount stays in @WOT. I guess you could be done by cutting the bolt but your taking that liability if something bad happens


Good point, thanks. I believe I could make it work.

Top



© 1998-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide