Page 1 of 2 1 2
rigging up for frog fishing #10169616 07/28/14 01:08 AM
K
Kens3313 Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
K
What is the best type of rod yall like to use for fishing frogs in pads, I have a shimano 7:1 gear ratio reel with 30 lb braid and a 7ft medium heavy Vendetta rod that broke on me today while in mid cast, I dunno if this was a defect in the rod or something im doing wrong. Ive been using this rod for about 4 years now. Im looking for tips on forg fishing, I had about 6 blow up on it today and I missed them all, I waited like 2 or 3 seconds before setting the hook and didn't boat one single fish. Also do yall squeeze the water out of the frogs after each cast? I think that's probably why my rod broke because the fog may have been full of water. Any helpful tips would be appreciated. Im looking for a new frog rod now.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: rigging up for frog fishing [Re: Kens3313] #10169635 07/28/14 01:18 AM
Jake Shannon(Skeet4Life) Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
Rod probably broke because the blank just got damaged or cracked. I like a 7'3"H action rod and at least 50lb braid. Good luck!

Re: rigging up for frog fishing [Re: Kens3313] #10169647 07/28/14 01:23 AM
K
Kens3313 Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
K
Why do people like 50 and 65 lb braid? Is it because of how it affects the action of the bait, easier to cast, or just to keep from breaking off. Because I always figured 30 lb is enough to keep from breaking.

Re: rigging up for frog fishing [Re: Kens3313] #10169680 07/28/14 01:32 AM
K.D. Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
The problem with braid is shock absorption. 30 lb braid can break on a hook set. Powerpro's website says to pick a braid based on line diameter. Match the diameter of braid to the diameter of mono you would use is the same situation. 80 lb power pro is about the same diameter as most 20 lb mono line.